Coconut Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
A great recipe. The hardest part is waiting the time until you can eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was a hit at Easter brunch this year. I made a dark chocolate sauce to drizzle over the top of each slice for some added decadence (tasted like a Mounds bar!) Thank you to everyone who suggested using just 8 ounces of Cool Whip. That was plenty. I recommend bringing it out of the fridge for an hour or so before serving to soften it up just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Easy to make and sooo good. Huge hit at our birthday party...everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess of her Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My husband was very upset after I finish decorating the cake and he couldn't have a slice. I told him we would have to wait at least 3 to 4 days and he lost his mind! I only used 1/2 of the cool whip. 16 oz is too much. It was well worth the wait. We all died and went to heaven. This cake was so good! I'll make it again for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I thought this cake was my grandma's special recipe:) It is and will always be my favorite, although I use yellow cake, half the cool whip and no extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Oh My Gosh! This cake is to die for! I used yellow cake mix and omitted the almond extract. By day four we were fighting over the last couple of slices. I cut my cake layers with thread and it was easy as pie. This was my first time cutting layers, way easier than I thought. We have paid to have this cake made for us, never again. I will be making it myself for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Fabulous!Thank you for this recipe, it is a keeper. I have tried many coconut cream cake recipes trying to match a cake that I had in Charleston s.c. My husband paid $100 to ship one of these cakes for SC to Arizona for my birthday. I think this is about the same recipe. Next time I will use the cool whip & sour cream mixture as the filling between the layers and maybe poke holes in the cake while warm & pour over the sour cream & sugar combo then refridgerate it for a couple days. I also used a coconut cake mix from the store. Freeze the cakes before you slice them to frost, much easier slicing. Fantastic, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Made this for Easter and everyone loved it! I added a little more almond extract since my family loves a stronger almond flavor. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Excellent Cake. Very Moist. Made a big hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I made this for a birthday, and my husband thought it was the best coconut cake he'd ever eaten. I thought it was simple to prepare, and just as easy to consume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States