Coconut Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was a hit at Easter brunch this year. I made a dark chocolate sauce to drizzle over the top of each slice for some added decadence (tasted like a Mounds bar!) Thank you to everyone who suggested using just 8 ounces of Cool Whip. That was plenty. I recommend bringing it out of the fridge for an hour or so before serving to soften it up just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Excellent Cake. Very Moist. Made a big hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I made this for a birthday, and my husband thought it was the best coconut cake he'd ever eaten. I thought it was simple to prepare, and just as easy to consume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Made this for Easter and everyone loved it! I added a little more almond extract since my family loves a stronger almond flavor. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I used 2 cups of nonfat plain yogurt instead of the sour cream, 1 cup of white sugar. It was still a little too sweet for my pallet. And I used yellow cake mix and 8 oz of the whipped topping as the other reviews, it was more than enough. But other than that, this was a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Wow! This cake was just great. I thought the frosting amount was perfect...nice and fluffy. I also dyed a little of the coconut green and sprinkled it on top for "grass" then hid little jelly beans on top of the green coconut so they looked like little Easter eggs lying in the grass. I also sprinkled green coconut around the bottom and put jelly beans around the bottom. Just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is really fabulous. We've found that we prefer to use yellow cake mix and as the other posters suggested, 8oz of Cool Whip is plenty. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
easy and delicious....the hint of added almond to the cake mix made a nice subtle flavor...lots of frosting left over...an 8oz container of coolwhip would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Since this is a birthday cake I haven't had a chance to taste test. I was not able to use all the frosting. 8 oz. of whipped topping would be very sufficent. I am making it 24 hours before cutting so hopefully the flavors will mesh. I did forget the almond flavoring in the cake mix so I added it to the filling. The cake with coconut on the top looks like a snowball ... but way too much leftover frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This cake was a hit for this years Thanksgiving dinner, it's been invited back for Christmas! Jalyn Locklear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States