Coconut Shrimp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by candy bar
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is the best coconut shrimp that we ever had. One change we had soda water on hand instead of beer and it still had a beer batter texture from the foam from the soda water. The recipe called for 1/3 cup of beer and I ended up using about 2/3 cup of soda water. We didn't need nearly as much of the sauce which also by the way was incredible with this shrimp. This is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The flavors in this were really great! The only thing I had to change was the batter. It was way to thick so I needed to add about a 1/4 cup of the beer. Also, I didn't use a deep frier because I don't have one so at first I burnt a couple because my oil was too hot but I was able to adjust the temp and then they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was by far the best coconut shrimp I have ever tasted, even better than the coconut shrimp at Outback steakhouse! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
As a huge fan of seafood and coconut (especially together!), I make this recipe a lot. I do add a bit more beer for flavor and add a cup of panko crumbs to the coconut shreds for crispiness. If you don't mind the cost, you can substitute coconut cooking oil for the vegetable oil to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by comicfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Absolutely fantastic!!!I thought going in that it had too many ingredients, but I was wrong. Loved the sauce, loved the shrimp. only have to deep fry about 3 minutes and voila. My family wants this everyday now. thanks a bunch. (i unfortunately did not find creole mustard,used grainy Dijon, but will keep looking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made this for my god-daughters luau themed birthday party and it was a hit!!! The only thing I changed was the prepared mustard to stone ground mustard, it gave it a little more texture. This has now become my signature dish!!! We could not make enough to satisfy the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I used thin sliced chicken breast instead of shrimp, and it turned out great! A little greasy, but I think that was my fault since I don't have a deep fryer and was having trouble with oil temp control. Used sweetened coconut since that was what I had at home and it "over caramelized" but when I mixed it into the batter it wasn't a problem. Can't wait to try with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Awesome shrimp recipe!! The only thing I had to change was to add more beer because my batter was really thick with just 1/3 cup. They looked beautiful though and tasted just as good as restaurant coconut shrimp. Will definitely make again and recommend to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gregory Gould
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I loved it, I thought it was an interesting and tasty way to make shrimp from the original, "garlic butter." I thought the common spices you added to the batter made quite the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregory Gould

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States