Coconut Shrimp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by candy bar
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is the best coconut shrimp that we ever had. One change we had soda water on hand instead of beer and it still had a beer batter texture from the foam from the soda water. The recipe called for 1/3 cup of beer and I ended up using about 2/3 cup of soda water. We didn't need nearly as much of the sauce which also by the way was incredible with this shrimp. This is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The flavors in this were really great! The only thing I had to change was the batter. It was way to thick so I needed to add about a 1/4 cup of the beer. Also, I didn't use a deep frier because I don't have one so at first I burnt a couple because my oil was too hot but I was able to adjust the temp and then they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was by far the best coconut shrimp I have ever tasted, even better than the coconut shrimp at Outback steakhouse! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
As a huge fan of seafood and coconut (especially together!), I make this recipe a lot. I do add a bit more beer for flavor and add a cup of panko crumbs to the coconut shreds for crispiness. If you don't mind the cost, you can substitute coconut cooking oil for the vegetable oil to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by comicfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Absolutely fantastic!!!I thought going in that it had too many ingredients, but I was wrong. Loved the sauce, loved the shrimp. only have to deep fry about 3 minutes and voila. My family wants this everyday now. thanks a bunch. (i unfortunately did not find creole mustard,used grainy Dijon, but will keep looking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made this for my god-daughters luau themed birthday party and it was a hit!!! The only thing I changed was the prepared mustard to stone ground mustard, it gave it a little more texture. This has now become my signature dish!!! We could not make enough to satisfy the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I used thin sliced chicken breast instead of shrimp, and it turned out great! A little greasy, but I think that was my fault since I don't have a deep fryer and was having trouble with oil temp control. Used sweetened coconut since that was what I had at home and it "over caramelized" but when I mixed it into the batter it wasn't a problem. Can't wait to try with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Awesome shrimp recipe!! The only thing I had to change was to add more beer because my batter was really thick with just 1/3 cup. They looked beautiful though and tasted just as good as restaurant coconut shrimp. Will definitely make again and recommend to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gregory Gould
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I loved it, I thought it was an interesting and tasty way to make shrimp from the original, "garlic butter." I thought the common spices you added to the batter made quite the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregory Gould

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States