Coconut Shrimp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I made these to bring to a dinner party and everyone went crazy over them. I don't eat shrimp myself, so I served them without tasting them, but I was told that they were better than any coconut shrimp anyone had ever tasted. I cooked them before we left the house and put them in a covered glass cake pan and then heated them in the oven at 350F for about 4-5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Awesome! We will definitely make this again. We did not have marmalade so we mixed together honey, horseradish and mustard for the sauce and it turned out yummy. The batter was really thick so I added 1/4 cup more beer. I used light beer but I can't imagine that would make the batter thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
Tried it and it was as good as coconut shrimp in restaurants. Be sure to use fairly large shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Awesome shrimp recipe!! The only thing I had to change was to add more beer because my batter was really thick with just 1/3 cup. They looked beautiful though and tasted just as good as restaurant coconut shrimp. Will definitely make again and recommend to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
A little twist on the usual coconut shrimp I make from this site which is also fabulous. Before you dredge your shrimp into the flour, make sure you dry them well with paper towels. I used pineapple marmalade for this and once coated with the coconut, we let them sit for fifteen minutes before we started the frying process. We made thirty skewers with three shrimp on each and my company couldn't get them into their mouths fast enough. This was an appy and I'm sad to say there were no leftovers! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This was truly as good (if not better) than any restaurant. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was wonderful. Very easy to make. I found a bottle of horseradish mustard combined at Wal-Mart and I used 12 Tbsp. I also used about 1/2 c. or more of the beer. 1/3 c. wasn't quite enough. I had also only used 1/2 lb. of large shrimp and the recipe barely made enough batter(flour, baking powder.... mixture) to cover all of the shrimp. If you plan to use a whole pound of large shrimp, you may want to double the recipe. This recipe really is great!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
A wonderful recipe. Try this substitution: Replace the 1 Lb of Shrimp with 1 Lb of froglegs. Mmmmm! (Even my kids liked 'em.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
Everyone loved them and it was easy to make. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
this was delicious!! i put the coconut in the food processor to make it a little finer and i didnt have any problems with losing the coconut in the oil. for the dipping sauce, i mixed spicy brown mustard and honey..excellent! will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States