Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
Very delicious! I chilled the batter and marmalade overnight and prepared the shrimp the next day. Even though I lost coconut in the oil, a lot was still on the shrimp. Chilling is the secret. For the reviewer who said it wasn't sweet enough, try adding 1/2c of the coconut to the batter, plus 2 T sugar and 1/2 t salt. The dipping sauce I used was 1/2 c orange marmalade, 2 t mustard, 1 t prepared horseradish, dash salt, and honey to taste. Yes, it's laborious, but worth the effort for a great recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
775 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Yes indeed, this recipe really does taste like the Outback's. I followed the orange marmalade/horseradish sauce/mustard (I used Grey Poupon) recommendation for the dipping sauce and it was excellent. To speed solidification, I placed shrimp in the freezer for fifteen minutes instead of the refrigerator for thirty minutes. As many others have indicated, I pan fried the shrimp with exceptional results. The browing only took maybe two minutes per side. They looked beautifully golden brown and I lost very little coconut in the frying process. My wife rarely compliments my cooking - and she said these were GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
658 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
GREAT! However, I did pulse the coconut lightly in a food processor (previously mentioned) and it did adhere to the battered shrimp better (good tip). Also, since I like things a tad more seasoned, I put some cayenne pepper,paprika,garlic&onion powder, dried thyme&oregano into the 3/4 C flour (before dividing) and tossed seasoning directly on shrimp prior to coating. Plus, the larger the shrimp, the less time this takes..but it's worth the trouble even if you use medium shrimp. I wouldn't go smaller than that. After dredging/coating shrimp, chill until set, or freeze for 10 to 15 minutes. I've made these, froze and stored for another day and they fried up just as good that way too. If you use large/jumbo shrimp you can hold these in oven at 300 to finish cooking so coconut doesn't burn (or to keep warm until all are done). I also used the marmalade dipping sauce recommended which was really good! The batter itself w/out coconut works for fried onion rings or mushrooms as well, although I rolled those in Panko crumbs vs coconut flakes. Saved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
545 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
I thought this recipe was good, but I made one change, instead of beer, I used coconut milk and it made it so coconutty. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I bought a bag of tail on shrimp at Costco because we just moved to a beach city and shrimp sounded so good, but I wasn't sure what else to do with them other than the obvious easy shrimp cocktail dish, but that's like an appetizer and I wanted to make a dinner for me and my husband, ya know, something more filling. I thought the task of making coconut shrimp sounded too elaborate and a nightmare for me because I have the passion for cooking but not neccessarily the experience. I was wrong. Making this was easy and fun. I was surprised at the amount of coconut breading stays on the shrimp too. The key is the refrigeration time to get it cold enough so that the coconut dough sticks to the shrimp. I mixed both dijon and regular mustard with the orange marmalade and horseradish sauce. The result was delicious, great for a beginner too who wants to break out of the macaroni box. I guess it's not really all that good for me cuz it's fried, not something I'd make all the time, but every once in a while for a special occasion. Definitely a recipe I will make again, Saved. Thanks. Hope this review was helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
OMG OMG OMG These are SOO good. I cannot believe how well they turned out for me. I do not have a deep fryer, I just used a frying pan. I think the secrets are to make sure and let the battered shrimp chill for the 30 minutes, and to make sure your oil is good and hot. I piled on the coconut and did not have a problem w/the batter sticking. I did add some cayenne and some garlic to the batter, and added the beer slowly until I had the right consistency (used ALMOST all of it the recipe called for and I'm sure it would have been fine with all of it). These are just like the Outback's coconut shrimp. I can't wait to make dinner with the coconut shrimp and the Aussie chicken on this site. Awesome! Thank you thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
absolutely the best! far better than Red Lobster and Sam's frozen version, even better than the ultimate Outback Steakhouse. used another reviewer's recipe for sauce...together, can't be beat. contrary to some reviewers, we love coconut and piled it on...also I began with cooked shrimp which may have cut down on fry time thus not apt to burn coconut as easily. THANK YOU for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I printed off this recipe months ago but have been leary trying it because my boyfriend is not fond of coconut. However, recently at a well-known restaurant, he surprised everyone by ordering this as an appetizer...and LOVED them. Immediately I knew I could try this recipe! I'm sorry I waited so long because it was sooooo good! I used med-size shrimp (it was all I had available but the large shrimp is now on my grocery list for this recipe's repeat performance)which made it a tad more difficult to do all the dipping. Also, I followed the reviewer who said to use marmalade, mustard, honey, horseradish and salt for the dipping sauce. Delightful!! Thank you Linda for posting this wonderful and appreciated dinner recipe! I would recommend it to anyone! It just as good as the restaurant version!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
We had our daughter Tylers' birthday party this past weekend and she made these as part of our appetizers. The batter seemed a little thin, so I added more flour to get the right consistency. I was so anxious to try these, but they ended up flying off the plate! Everyone raved about them, so I guess they were amazing. Tyler placed three shrimp onto wooden skewers and then coated with the batter and coconut. Hubby Drew fried these right on the skewers in our deep fryer. For the dip I subbed the orange marmalade with pineapple preserves. Well, at least I can say that the dipping sauce was great! Thanks so much Linda!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
TIPS NOT MENTIONED AND SECRET TO COCONUT STICKING: The chilling is a must, but what goes with that from my experience making this is ...after you take it out, use your fingers to mold/glue on the coconut to the shrimp after it's been in the fridge for at least 15 minutes (but put back in fridge so it can continue to meld together). Just press down on each shrimp that is covered with coconut & the batter that has had time to meld onto the coconut will catch any lose flakes. I do this each time and never have any problems. Coconut burns easily, so I only cook about a small batch at a time so I can monitor their progress and flip faster. The dip posted by the first review is EXCELLENT (1/2C orange marmalade, 2t mustard, 1t prepared horseradish, dash salt & honey to taste). Fancy dinner to impress your family and guests yet so easy! What's even better is you can prepare ahead, and then cook the shrimp right before you eat since it's finished in a matter of minutes! FWIW, I hated shrimp before I had this recipe. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States