Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Made for our neighborhood block party and it was eaten up! I used Costco large tail-on pre-cooked shrimp. I specifically bought the cooked shrimp because I know coconut can burn - this way, I didn't have to worry about the shrimp not being cooked through. Pan-fried in canola oil instead of deep-frying. The only challenge was the coconut would sometimes burn if I didn't time it perfectly, but because I'd packed it so full of coconut, some of the coconut/batter wasn't quite cooked at the same time. It's an art, for sure!! My dipping sauce was apricot jam with horseradish to taste (not a fan of marmalade). I'm sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and it was excellent. The only thing I will do different next time is to chop the coconut, just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
KEEPER! Whole family loved! My daughter made this for me for mother's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Awesome recipe! I made a double batch of the beer batter and refrigerated it and made beer battered fish with it the next day! The family loved it and it made my dinner preparations very easy the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
It took longer than an hour for preparation with cleaning the shrimp and chilling. However it was my first time making coconut shrimp and it came out great. Next time I will sweeten the batter a little bit but overall taste and look is fantastic. Simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Yummy! Very messy and labour intensive! But worth it. I made a big batch and froze the rest. Hope they cook and serve up well this way per the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Great! Used sweetened coconut but the marmalade dip worked well to cut down the sweetness. (Don't make the oil too hot or they will burn!) Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Delicious! couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very good recipe, quick and easy, everyone loved it. Every bit as good as Outback's coconut shrimp. One caveat though the video does not correctly follow the recipe. In the video they combine the 1/2 cup flour with the coconut when the recipe calls for it to be included in the beer batter. I followed the recipe and it worked like a charm. I did add some Old Bay to the batter just to kick it up a notch. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Foster
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was very good although I prefer a bit more spice. It's easy and very tasty. I served it with shrimp & chicken pineapple fried rice in a pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Foster

Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States