Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
These were even better preheated in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes the next day! We made a yogurt, pinneapple and coconut extract dip that paired well with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Hubby and son loved it - I didn't deap fry it because I didn't have enough oil, so I pan fried it and it was still super yummy. Nice and sweet and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Just made these tonight for dinner for my husband and I, they were to die for. I made the orange marmalade sauce that was suggested and served it with rice. Definitely a keeper. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belemi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious! We used large shrimp (16/21) so the frying time was a little bit longer but it was very easy and super yummy. Made orange marmalade dip to go with it ( mix 1/2 c. orange marmalade, 2 tsp stone ground mustard, 1 tsp horseradish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Outstanding.....Very easy these are better then some I have had in a 5 star restaurant. Must try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Beautiful tasty shrimps! I wanted to do something to impress my friends during last Christmas party and believe me, i have chosen a winner! YOu know they like them cos they came for seconds and thirds! And i'm glad i took the trouble to shop for fresh jumbo shrimps and followed the recipe to the T. Thank you LINDAV10. :) My friends and family love your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
As suggested by others, I let the batter chill in the refrigerator about an hour before using it. I then dipped the shrimp in the batter and put them in the freezer for about 30 min before frying. I didn't use the entire amount of beer but next time I definitely will, the batter was a little too thick without all the beer. I served the shrimp with sweet and sour sauce and they were a hit! The japanese zucchini and onions recipe is a great side dish to go with the shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe, I prepare exactly as given but use Red Lobster pina colada dipping sauce. We love their dipping sauce! Preparing right now, about 10th time making & always receive rave reviews from my guests. I live on west coast of Florida so always use fresh Gulf of Mexico shrimp, huge difference from using frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JessMcKale90
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I ignored the negative reviews about this recipe and tried it tonight. WOW was it amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, and had no problem with the coconut sticking to the shrimp. I think chilling the shrimp in the fridge 30 minutes before frying really helps. I made the orange marmalade sauce too, and also added fried rice and a dinner roll to complete the meal. It seriously tasted just like Outback. My husband was crazy about it. Definitely a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Okay, for once I have some useful advice :) When dredging in the coconut/flour combination, just do it once quickly on each side. I kept turning the shrimp over and over, trying to get more coconut flakes on, but that actually made the batter come off. In general, this was okay, but I don't think I would make again. I used frozen shrimp (defrosted, obviously), so maybe would be better with fresh. I didnt have any horseradish for the sauce, so just mixed marmalade and dijon mustard. Good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States