Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
made these tonight and they were fantastic! i will definitely be making these again! my husband said they were the best coconut shrimp he has ever eaten, and he is a very honest person. he doesnt give me false feedback :) so make these and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this exactly according to recipe which I never do! Came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Delicious. Simple. Moist. Really Good. The best I've had. Comparable to Outback Steakhouse's recipe! You can't go wrong with this one. I followed the recipe as is, no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My family loves coconut so i added some to the batter too -this was the ONLY change i made. I used pre-cooked shrimp from my butcher block in the store and strongly recommend doing that if you've never cooked shellfish. That way all you have to worry about is how the batter looks and not about cooking the shrimp(make sure the shrimp are thawed out though). also you MUST refrigerate the batter after you dip the shrimp, the batter will not set otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Use bigger shrimp! I didn't read the reviews like I normally do and just used medium sized shrimp. The coconut barely stayed on. I had to squish the shrimp and the coconut into a ball with my hands to quickly put it down before it fell off the shrimp. I pan fried instead because it gave me better control of handling the shrimp. I don't think I will make this again unless requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I give it a 6 star out of 5. It was a great hit at a party. did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
The coconut shrimp was the best. I am allergic to shrimp so I didn't taste them myself but everyone at my party raved about it, calling it the best appetizer of the night. This was easy to make and cook with a deep frying basket (purchase a frying basket and just use one of your pots as oppose to a deep fryer). If you are making a batch for a party then these can take a bit of time to prepare (I did each shrimp individually) so I definitely suggest making them the night before. I listened to a reviewer's advice and used warm raspberry sauce as the dipping sauce even though most people ate it without the sauce (they said it was extremely flavorful).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
this is very time-consuming. my only compliant. i used almost everyone's comments when i made these. i did chill the batter @ 2hours. i then chilled the battered shrimp @ about 30 minutes. i used a cast iron pan and fried at medium heat. i did double dip the coated shrimp in coconut to make sure i wouldn't lose to much. i also added coconut to the batter. i did use the half cup of orange marm. and then 2 tablespoons of horse radish and 1 tablespoon of dijon mustard. we like a sweet/tangy taste. my family was certain i had went to outbacks. this was served with baked taters and coleslaw. and nope, i hardly lost any cocounut. mucho time, effort and planning...but yep, this is 5 star worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
My husband thought he was back in a restaurant! This easy recipe made the whole family happy even my teenage girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Excellent as is. I used a bottled plum sauce for dipping that I bought at an asian supermarket and is was delish!! Will defitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States