Coconut Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
GORGEOUS, GORGEOUS, GORGEOUS!!! These are a big hit! The balls themselves are nice, but dipping them in chocolate takes them to a whole new level of DELISH. I did some of them with the powdered sugar, some with white chocolate, some with milk chocolate and some are double-dipped... heh-heh-heh. :) I used coconut rum which is excellent and doubled it (1/2c.), because they were otherwise looking too dry. Lastly, I used a mixture of nuts - almonds, pecans & walnuts. I think this recipe just made the cut for an annual holiday fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made these several days ago for all my neighbor's Christmas treat plates.....they are the best rum balls I've had and the neighbors want more!!! Very addictive and hard to resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This recipe was easy and delicious. I agree that they only improve with age. I could not make enough of them to satisfy the crowd at work. Definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Absolutely delicious-taste like a Mounds Bar! One thing to note, I would be sure that they are ate before a few days, as the longer they sit, the stronger the alcohol becomes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Even after 24 hrs this "dough" was still wet, sticky, and inedible. After crushing and adding an ADDITIONAL box of wafers, they were fine. Seriously: how did these work out for so many other cooks? Other coconut rum ball recipes include an entire box of confectioners sugar. That would have fixed the consistency, but really: they were YUMMY and less sweet w/double the wafers instead. My suggestion: make them with extra wafers and sugar on hand, and far enough ahead of schedule to tinker with this recipe. With all good ingredients and no baking, these will end up fine if you can achieve the proper consistency. But this recipe, as written, did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Recipe came out good but needed a bit more rum. I put in 1/2 cup coconut rum and they were still a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These made excellent gifts for friends, everyone loved them. I upped the rum amount to 1/2cup as others suggested. I also let them sit overnight before rolling them and they weren't too wet. I think one box of wafers was adequate even though some people didn't but I didn't eat any, I think one full box is just enough so don't eat even a few. They are worth the wait and only get better with age. Thanks for a new holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
TO DIE FOR!! these were wonderful, i didn't change a thing. so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is a gorgeous recipe, but after much debate with my husband, I used white chocolate crushed into bits and sultanas instead of walnuts and coconut. Also, I added 2 tablespoons of cocoa to give them a bitter sweet chocolate taste along with the rum. So rich and yum. Will definately make this again. 14 ounces of condensed milk was too much for my wafer biscuits, so I used two thirds but added it carefully and mixed as I went to check consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe exact and everone loved them. Many in my family said they were pretty strong, just how they like them. I did leave them set for a while for the flavors to mingle. Great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States