Coconut Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I am not a fan of rum balls but I made these as a gift for my landlady this christmas. She begged for the recipe as everyone that came to visit her ate them up. I did half the batch rolled in sugar and the other half dipped in chocolate. They were a hit in her house and my boyfriend loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara McKinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I just made these and I thought they were good. I was wishing for more of a rum flavor in them even though I used real rum. Easy to make though. Very sticky so not very easy to roll into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These rum balls are awesome! I added a little extra rum, and 2 tablespoons of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluecatblonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
My friends who like rum balls LOVE these! I make them two to three months before Christmas, refrigerate them in an air-tight container, and "baste" them with a little run every couple of weeks. Finally, I dust them in confectioner's sugar or dip them in melted caramel or chocolate. Then I pack 'em up and give them as gifts. If that's labor intensive I can assure you the end result is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARICAM58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These were delicious. Everyone loved them over the holidays. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I make these every year at Christmas, and they are a hit wherever we go! I top them with drizzled melted dark and white chocolate instead of powdered sugar, which goes great with the coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This recipe makes at least 20 - 25 rum balls with the footprint of a quarter. These are rich & decadent. I dipped mine in melted Ghiardelli chocolate. I will try Creme de Menthe or Peppermint Schnappes next; a flavored rum would have been better, I think. The Nilla wafers were rich and vanilla-y, but I suppose I just don't like rum all that much! The rum was a decent brand, but using coconut rum or Kahlua or creme de menthe might have been better. Easy to make and the kids enjoyed helping. Kids didn't like the flavor. My 9 yo son said the rum ruined them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These made excellent gifts for friends, everyone loved them. I upped the rum amount to 1/2cup as others suggested. I also let them sit overnight before rolling them and they weren't too wet. I think one box of wafers was adequate even though some people didn't but I didn't eat any, I think one full box is just enough so don't eat even a few. They are worth the wait and only get better with age. Thanks for a new holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
They were totally delicious... compare to other recipe had to put entire 312 gram box of vanilla wafer crushed cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabelle Lelievre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
These were awesome! I love making rum balls, they are just as yummy as cookies but a lot easier. First I made the chocolate rum balls from allrecipes and they were so good I made more along with these. I think the coconut rum balls were a little better than the chocolate ones. But, I love white chocolate and these had more of a white chocolate flavor to them. After I made them I rolled some in toasted coconut, some in powdered sugar and some in melted white chocolate chips. I would not recommend dipping them in the chocolate, it made them overly sweet. I will definitely make these again come Christmas time as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States