Coconut Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This was my second time making rum balls, the first time I made chocolate ones. These coconut rum balls tasted sooooo good and were very easy to make. I used crushed almonds instead of walnuts because I can't stand walnuts, and they turned out great. I made them a week ahead and put them in tin cans, made EXCELLENT Christmas gifts and stored well in the fridge. The only problem was after you roll a few balls, your hands get very sticky, so have a spoon nearby to scrape the sticky stuff off your hands after rolling a some balls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Made these for a NYE party last night. They turned out well and were very tasty. I made a half batch 4 days prior and used a coconut rum. I crushed the vanilla wafers in a ziploc bag and used a rolling pin. I then rolled the dough into individual balls. It was kind of messy and sticky but was not a big deal. I then sprinkled with a generous amount of powdered sugar, put in a sealed container and popped into the fridge to cure. Prior to party, I rolled each ball again in powdered sugar because they were a little bit sticky and then finished off by rolling in chopped nuts. You have to like rum and coconut, which party guests did, so they went over very well. Recipe was not difficult and I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
A great variation for rum balls! I make a few changes to the listed recipe, however. I prefer to toast the coconut before I roll the balls in it- YUM! I also add about 1/8 cup more rum (coconut flavored), otherwise the coconut flavor completely masks the rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is my first time even eating, let alone making rum balls. I doubled the rum like most reviews said and I used coconut rum. The flavor is great, but I think chocolate dipped would be fun to try next. They are a bit gooey, just like eating the inside of a Mounds bar, but extra rum will probably do that! I made them for the International holiday "Talk Like a Pirate Day" and no body had just one. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was the 1st time I ever made rum balls, and these were EXCELLENT. They were so easy to make and just tasted amazing, the absolute perfect amount of "rum taste". Like the last reviewer mentioned, after rolling a few, your hands get very sticky so just make sure to have something to wipe them off with nearby and you're all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELACINE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
These are by far the best rum balls I have made so far. They are soft and moist and just tasty. I coat them in melted semi-sweet chocolate and then roll them in chocolate sprinkles. PURE HEAVEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These were fabulous! You cannot eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Moist and delicious.Of course, I`ll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
To keep your hands from becoming sticky, I found that if you put the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes before you roll the dough it isn't that sticky. Also, after you roll them into balls, place the balls back into the fridge to allow them to harden before rolling them in powdered sugar, coconut or whatever you want to roll them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States