Coconut Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
These turned out very moist and tasty. I think they have just the right amount of rum. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This was my second time making rum balls, the first time I made chocolate ones. These coconut rum balls tasted sooooo good and were very easy to make. I used crushed almonds instead of walnuts because I can't stand walnuts, and they turned out great. I made them a week ahead and put them in tin cans, made EXCELLENT Christmas gifts and stored well in the fridge. The only problem was after you roll a few balls, your hands get very sticky, so have a spoon nearby to scrape the sticky stuff off your hands after rolling a some balls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was the 1st time I ever made rum balls, and these were EXCELLENT. They were so easy to make and just tasted amazing, the absolute perfect amount of "rum taste". Like the last reviewer mentioned, after rolling a few, your hands get very sticky so just make sure to have something to wipe them off with nearby and you're all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELACINE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This was my first time making rum balls and it was SO EASY! I served this as part of the desert plate at christmas dinner and my guests really cleaned up. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
My husband had these on a cruise a few years back and we've been searching for this recipe ever since! I don't care for nuts, so I substituted and extra 1/2 cup crushed wafers and 1/2 cup coconut. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Perfect! These have the perfect amount of coconut and rum - nothing overpowers the other. I didn't have time to roll the balls after I mixed them, so it stayed in the the refrigerator for 24 hours. They rolled great! I couldn't stop sneaking tastes! I can't wait to give them out as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
My mother used to make something similar to these when I was young, but she now has arthritis and can't bake for the holidays. She was so excited to taste these, she thought I found her recipe! (In THAT kitchen?? Not a chance.) Thanks, you made her Christmas! Will definitely make again, especially since they store well for so long, and improve in flavor over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
These didn't turn out well at all. They were too strong and everyone at work was getting buzzed off them. I guess that could be good if you are looking to get your guests tipsy, but I didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
These were easy to make and were good. I liked them but they were not a huge hit at our family dinner. Not sure if I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereca74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
A great variation for rum balls! I make a few changes to the listed recipe, however. I prefer to toast the coconut before I roll the balls in it- YUM! I also add about 1/8 cup more rum (coconut flavored), otherwise the coconut flavor completely masks the rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States