Coconut Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Even though I substituted ginger snaps and pecans, these turned out really good. I think it helps if you use good rum. After they chilled, I dipped these in white chocolate to make them extra yummy. Would be very good for a party any time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Good recipe...didnt use the nuts because of allergies, didnt use as much of the sweetened condensed, about half the can,used 2 cups confectioners sugar and added a little more rum...yummy! Oh, and after they had firmed up in the fridge, dipped them in chocolate...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These were fabulous! You cannot eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Made these for a NYE party last night. They turned out well and were very tasty. I made a half batch 4 days prior and used a coconut rum. I crushed the vanilla wafers in a ziploc bag and used a rolling pin. I then rolled the dough into individual balls. It was kind of messy and sticky but was not a big deal. I then sprinkled with a generous amount of powdered sugar, put in a sealed container and popped into the fridge to cure. Prior to party, I rolled each ball again in powdered sugar because they were a little bit sticky and then finished off by rolling in chopped nuts. You have to like rum and coconut, which party guests did, so they went over very well. Recipe was not difficult and I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
THese were really good. I am not a fan of rum balls, but with the coconut, they were yummy. I rolled mine in powdered sugar, not in more coconut (ooopppsss).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I thought these were alright. They tasted pretty good. I was unable to roll mine right away, so they were sitting in the fridge for closer to 12 hours, and when I went to roll them, the coconut wouldn't stick to the balls. I'll have to wait for xmas parties this weekend to know how big of a hit they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I made these last Christmas and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I have made this for two Christmases now. My entire family loves them. And they are so simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmaleth

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My family loved this recipe. We will make it for Christmas next year. I used 1/2 c. dark rum. It was not too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States