Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was very good, and I enjoyed it with Marrakesh Vegetable Curry from this site. I did follow the reviewer yum-me's method of cooking which I liked. It did taste bland, so I actually added a few tsp of sugar. I noticed my coconut milk had hardly any in it, and some reviewers also mentioned this. I stirred the rice after a while (which I don't usually do) because I was concerned with burning, even though I had it on low. I went back to check, and it was sticking to the bottom (after 20 min). I then looked at the instructions on my Basmati rice pkg, and it said to cook 15-20 min. I'd follow those cooking times the next time. So be careful with your cooking time. Thanks for an enjoyable recipe, Emma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Coconut milk gives the rice so much flavor! I used jasmine rice; my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I used Jasmine rice, omitted salt and added a bit of sugar to the milk while it was heating up. I'm not sure if I'll ever be able to eat rice any other way! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have been cooking this rice for over an hour. I've added more milk and removed rice from the pan and it is still not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I usually, don't like rice very well, but this was terrific -- even with brown 'Texmati' rice! I added about 2 teaspoons of lemongrass (from a jar) and about 3/4 teaspoon Thai basil (also from a jar). I doubled the recipe for 4 and had little left over. Thanks, Emma! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I've made this recipes with white rice several times in my rice cooker. It comes out great. I use the portions according to how much rice I'm making (if making one cup of dry, white rice, use one cup of coconut milk. I've also added shredded coconut before cooking it, which is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Best tasting basmati rice I have made. Looks like plain rice but has a nice buttery nutty taste. Went well with some honey hoisin pork chops :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I was expecting a bit more flavor. It was good for a base on a flavorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchbloom
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Nice subtle flavor. I used 1 can unsweetened coconut milk & enough water to equal 2 1/2 cups - 1 cup basmati rice - 1 heaping tsp. white sugar - and a splash of lime juice. Leftovers will be saved for rice pudding - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States