Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I've been making a version of this for years to serve with any curry-type dish. I use one cup of rice, 1 14 oz. can of lite coconut milk and 1/4 cup of water. Boil water and milk, add rice, reduce heat to simmer uncovered for 20-30 minutes until rice is tender and all liquid is absorbed. No salt because usually the main dish has enough. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
With some minor alterations, this recipe is fabulous. Because I'm the only one who eats this at my house, I cut the recipe in fourths. Here's what I did: 1 can (14 oz) of coconut milk 3/4 cup of Basmati rice 1 pinch salt 3 heaping tbls of sugar The rice almost soft once the rice absorbed all the coconut milk. Next time, I'd cut my rice down to 2/3 cup. Jasmine rice might work well also since it's a sweet rice. My brother introduced me to Coconut Rice when he brought home dessert leftovers from Sawatdee. They add a slice of mango to top it off. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
Very easy and very tasty. I couldn't find coconut milk so I used the can of the cream of coconut that I found in the juice isle. It came out great. I used 1 can (15 oz.) with 6 servings of rice. Any white rice can be used with this recipe. Great, and VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
LOVE IT!!! My boyfriend and I fell in love with coconut rice at a restaurant and I decided to try it at home. I am only recently expanding my cooking skills and this recipe is perfect! Cheap and easy. I could only find light coconut milk but in my opinion turned out just as perfect as in the restaurant. I do suggest stirring the rice well just after adding to the milk and every 5 minutes afterwards to make sure the bottom does not burn and the liquid is coating evenly. My cooking time was just shy of 20min. The house smelled wonderful and the rice stayed sticky. I used a measuring cup to form the rice and to look great on the plate next to chicken simmered in Trader Joe's Thai Yellow Curry Sauce and some fresh green beans tossed with red pepper, basil and hot sauce. Hands down the easiest, quickest and best tasting meal to date!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Add some tumeric to give a nice golden yellow colour - it really improves the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
THE RICE WAS VERY GOOD. THE SECRET FOR IT NOT TO BE SO PASTY IS TO LET IT SIMMER FOR 25 MINUTES OR MORE ON LOW HEAT. ADD RAISINS FOR A MORE TROPICAL TWIST. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is a beautiful start for an Indian or Thai dish. I would not eat it on its own (it is essentially just rice) but it was a delicious base for a curry dish. When paired with the curry, the aromas and the sweetness of the coconut milk came out. I also used 1 cup rice to 1 cup lite coconut milk and 1/2 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
ZZZzzzz. I added some chopped basil leaves and scallions to schnazz it up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
This tasted pretty good and went over well with the family. It almost burned, so unlike most rice recipes it could probably do with some stirring in the middle. This should probably be expected with the coconut milk, I guess. Not too sweet, and VERY filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a yummy variation for rice, we love rice in my house and this was a great change. I did use fresh coconut milk and added the coconut fleash after cooking. It came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODDESDARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States