Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This goes well as a side dish. Next time I'll use low fat coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
With some minor alterations, this recipe is fabulous. Because I'm the only one who eats this at my house, I cut the recipe in fourths. Here's what I did: 1 can (14 oz) of coconut milk 3/4 cup of Basmati rice 1 pinch salt 3 heaping tbls of sugar The rice almost soft once the rice absorbed all the coconut milk. Next time, I'd cut my rice down to 2/3 cup. Jasmine rice might work well also since it's a sweet rice. My brother introduced me to Coconut Rice when he brought home dessert leftovers from Sawatdee. They add a slice of mango to top it off. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Excellent recipe! Instead of using it as a side dish, combine it with other recipes to make a perfect gourmet meal. I like to serve this rice with some curry chicken on top....it is a wonderful combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I thought 4 cans of coconut milk was excessive - turns out it was probably necessary. My rice was a little too crunchy (not enough liquid) and very bland tasting. I tried to perk it up with peanuts like another chef suggested, but it was satisfactory at best. Maybe I will follow the directions next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Simple to make and has a delicate flavor. Pretty good. I added a chopped red pepper and crushed peanuts for a little more depth in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Yummy, yummy, yummy! A great twist to good 'ol rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I tried this recipe per the directions and the rice did not cook right. I had to add quite a bit more liquid to it. I didnt personaly find tha taste to be that good and added some peppers, chili powder and soy sauce in an attempt to make it more flavorful and zesty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
If you like mushy you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I call this desert rice because it's so good I eat it for desert. It has as many calories as a hostess cherry pie! Be warned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I loved the taste of this rice. I also added about a teaspoon of tarragon and curry for some extra flavoring and a pleasant looking color. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States