Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I loved this - My hubby raved. I will do this often. Simply followed the recipe to a T. I did add a bit of salt and pepper before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I loved this! I found the recipe didn't need any alterations; it had the nice taste I was looking for. HIGHLY recommend using this as a bed for some semi-spicy curry chicken, the mixture of flavour and texture is fabulous and authenthic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This was outstanding. I added a little toasted coconut and some sliced scallions and served it with the Dole Shrimp Kabobs from this site. It was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My family and I enjoyed this recipe very much. It turned out to be a forgiving recipe because I didn't have everything exactly on hand...so if you don't have exact ingredients/spices...don't let that stop you. On the side, I served minute rice prepared according to the package directions except in place of water, I used coconut milk. When the rice was done, I mixed in a can of small red beans. The meal was delicious and we are looking forward to having this chicken often during our summer grilling season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Very mild flavour, but nice for a change. I served this with green curry and got thumbs up from everyone who tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This goes well as a side dish. Next time I'll use low fat coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
With some minor alterations, this recipe is fabulous. Because I'm the only one who eats this at my house, I cut the recipe in fourths. Here's what I did: 1 can (14 oz) of coconut milk 3/4 cup of Basmati rice 1 pinch salt 3 heaping tbls of sugar The rice almost soft once the rice absorbed all the coconut milk. Next time, I'd cut my rice down to 2/3 cup. Jasmine rice might work well also since it's a sweet rice. My brother introduced me to Coconut Rice when he brought home dessert leftovers from Sawatdee. They add a slice of mango to top it off. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Excellent recipe! Instead of using it as a side dish, combine it with other recipes to make a perfect gourmet meal. I like to serve this rice with some curry chicken on top....it is a wonderful combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I thought 4 cans of coconut milk was excessive - turns out it was probably necessary. My rice was a little too crunchy (not enough liquid) and very bland tasting. I tried to perk it up with peanuts like another chef suggested, but it was satisfactory at best. Maybe I will follow the directions next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Simple to make and has a delicate flavor. Pretty good. I added a chopped red pepper and crushed peanuts for a little more depth in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States