Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was very good, it had a nice subtle flavor. I used 1 can of milk, 1/2 cup water and a cup of rice. I used Jasmine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
yummmmm! I used 1/2 light coconut milk and 1/2 water, still a good coconut flavor but not as bad for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I changed this recipe a bit, which is why I only put 4 stars. I am the only one that will eat coconut in my family, so I warmed up the pan, put a tablespoon of butter in the pan, sauteed the rice a bit, used 14oz of cocnut milk, 1 tablespoon of caraway seeds, and 1 teaspoon of sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddy1186

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is a beautiful start for an Indian or Thai dish. I would not eat it on its own (it is essentially just rice) but it was a delicious base for a curry dish. When paired with the curry, the aromas and the sweetness of the coconut milk came out. I also used 1 cup rice to 1 cup lite coconut milk and 1/2 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. I dont have anything to compare it to as this is the first time I have tried coconut milk rice. I did add 1/4 cup of sugar and a cinnamon stick, which I removed after cooking. The rice was not fluffy and stuck together as it cooled, which I didnt really care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I bought Jasmine rice because it was cheaper. Worked fine. I bought lite coconut milk. This may have led it to be bland tasting so I added sugar in the end. I boiled the water and coconut milk first than I added the rice. I constantly stirred. Covered the pan often. I added scallions to the top. And Mango for dressing the dish (as suggested earlier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is really tasty, but I recommend using 1/4 coconut milk, 3/4 water - the milk is really thick. Tasty with raisins when you finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Easy- a nice mild way to serve rice with an Asian or Thai cuisine main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
It is even better if you add some freshly grated/chopped ginger root to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States