Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is a beautiful start for an Indian or Thai dish. I would not eat it on its own (it is essentially just rice) but it was a delicious base for a curry dish. When paired with the curry, the aromas and the sweetness of the coconut milk came out. I also used 1 cup rice to 1 cup lite coconut milk and 1/2 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. I dont have anything to compare it to as this is the first time I have tried coconut milk rice. I did add 1/4 cup of sugar and a cinnamon stick, which I removed after cooking. The rice was not fluffy and stuck together as it cooled, which I didnt really care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I bought Jasmine rice because it was cheaper. Worked fine. I bought lite coconut milk. This may have led it to be bland tasting so I added sugar in the end. I boiled the water and coconut milk first than I added the rice. I constantly stirred. Covered the pan often. I added scallions to the top. And Mango for dressing the dish (as suggested earlier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is really tasty, but I recommend using 1/4 coconut milk, 3/4 water - the milk is really thick. Tasty with raisins when you finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Easy- a nice mild way to serve rice with an Asian or Thai cuisine main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
It is even better if you add some freshly grated/chopped ginger root to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I served this with a coconut chicken curry recipe from this site. The flavors complemented eachother very well- it was a very tasty meal, the second time I made it. The first time I made the mistake of accidentally using unsweetened coconut milk and it was so SO awful that I almost didn't make this again. Luckily I tried again with the right ingredients- it was really good! Be Careful all you new cooks to make SURE it is sweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Yummy! Made as is and it was great! I used jasmine rice though since I did not have basmati on hand. Served it with shrimp and edamame for a nice Asian inspired meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This did not turn out well at all. It could have been because I used brown basmati rice?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States