Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I changed this recipe a bit, which is why I only put 4 stars. I am the only one that will eat coconut in my family, so I warmed up the pan, put a tablespoon of butter in the pan, sauteed the rice a bit, used 14oz of cocnut milk, 1 tablespoon of caraway seeds, and 1 teaspoon of sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddy1186

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is a beautiful start for an Indian or Thai dish. I would not eat it on its own (it is essentially just rice) but it was a delicious base for a curry dish. When paired with the curry, the aromas and the sweetness of the coconut milk came out. I also used 1 cup rice to 1 cup lite coconut milk and 1/2 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. I dont have anything to compare it to as this is the first time I have tried coconut milk rice. I did add 1/4 cup of sugar and a cinnamon stick, which I removed after cooking. The rice was not fluffy and stuck together as it cooled, which I didnt really care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I bought Jasmine rice because it was cheaper. Worked fine. I bought lite coconut milk. This may have led it to be bland tasting so I added sugar in the end. I boiled the water and coconut milk first than I added the rice. I constantly stirred. Covered the pan often. I added scallions to the top. And Mango for dressing the dish (as suggested earlier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is really tasty, but I recommend using 1/4 coconut milk, 3/4 water - the milk is really thick. Tasty with raisins when you finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Easy- a nice mild way to serve rice with an Asian or Thai cuisine main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
It is even better if you add some freshly grated/chopped ginger root to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I served this with a coconut chicken curry recipe from this site. The flavors complemented eachother very well- it was a very tasty meal, the second time I made it. The first time I made the mistake of accidentally using unsweetened coconut milk and it was so SO awful that I almost didn't make this again. Luckily I tried again with the right ingredients- it was really good! Be Careful all you new cooks to make SURE it is sweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Yummy! Made as is and it was great! I used jasmine rice though since I did not have basmati on hand. Served it with shrimp and edamame for a nice Asian inspired meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States