Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have used both basmati and jasmine rice. also, some freshly grated lime zest really gives it punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Coconut rice is the answer to all lifes problems! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I just do 1 cup coconut milk per 1 cup of rice with a pinch of salt, and it comes out great. Tastes great with some cilantro, cashews, and coconut flakes mixed in. keep a close eye on coconut milk because it'll boil over fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittneyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent! I cut this recipe as I made it for just 2 people. 1 cup Basmati (rinsed and pre-soaked in salted water), 1 can Trader Joe's lite coconut milk, 1/4 cup chix stock, pinch salt, dash of rice vinegar, grated fresh ginger. Boil liquids, add soaked/drained rice, simmer on low 25-30 minutes and cover lid with paper towel or clean dish towel to stop condensation drips (makes rice mushy). Fluff with fork before serving. Can serve with fresh chopped basil or lightly toasted coconut on top (or cashews, mango, pineapple...) Great with Indian, Indonesian, Persian, Fish or Chicken dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I used a 13.5 oz can of Goya coconut milk with 1 cup of jasmine rice, and I threw in a cinnamon stick as well, with a pinch of salt. I cooked it 20 minutes, and it came out perfect. I may add another cinnamon stick the next time I cook this, as the rice closest to the stick was most flavorful. I later added some shredded coconut to it, for extra coconut flavor. I'll probably throw a few cashew pieces on top before serving. Delicious! This won't last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I was cooking a new recipe yesterday, Moong Dal, and it opted for you to eat it with rice. I knew I didn't want to make plain rice, so after searching the internet for a while I found this recipe. This is a great basic recipe for coconut rice, but to give mine a little extra flavor I added some lemon juice and zest. I also cut the recipe since I was just cooking for 2. I took one 14 oz can of coconut milk and 1/2 cup water and boiled with zest from a whole lemon. Once boiling, I added 1 cup Jasmine rice (that's what I had on hand, but Basmati is great too). Brought the heat down to a simmer and simmered for 20 minutes uncovered (or until liquid is gone). Then I added a big pinch of salt and half a lemon juiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissybolt2
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I'd read a number of recipes for coconut rice before I tried it. I let the rice sit in cold water for 15mins before rinsing. I added coconut milk, water and chopped kaffir lime leaves. It was great with a Thai yellow curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I only gave this 4 stars because had I not added sugar to this, it would have been extremely bland. The key to making this in a slow cooker is that you have to constantly stir it. Otherwise it will burn! I added three teaspoons of sugar and made this with 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown rice and it came out great. I love sweet and salty combos, so I paired this with some sauteed shrimp lightly salted. Simple, but good! Next time, I will add some mango on top for extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States