Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I love this recipe although I tweak it - I usually double it and add a whole can of coconut milk and less water. Then I add a tad extra nutmeg and along with the beans a half bag of precooked pork sausage crumbles. This makes it filling enough to use as a main dish. I consider it my go-to comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
So great! We make this all the time. A classic for us reminding us of living and traveling in Central and South America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I really liked this, the rest of my crew said, "unusual." You do need to add some flavoring and play around with it a bit. I added garlic, salt, cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I used 2.5 cups of rice a whole can of coconut milk and 2 cups of water and just kept adding water as it cooked. it was hard to get the rice soft. but I loved the flavor of the dish. served with pineapple grilled pork chops. I think it will be great heated up for lunch as leftovers, maybe with some avocado? can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Amazing! But you need to salt the coconut water to taste before you simmer it covered. Always taste your water because that will be the flavor of your rice. It needs at least a teaspoon per cup of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Lord Moris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
My family did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a delicious meatless meal. It's almost too good with the addition of some salt, garlic and turmeric, as other reviewers have suggested. This will be made many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Definitely a side dish. The texture is nice and creamy and the flavor is good, but I found it very subtle. Overall, I'd call this recipe "just ok." I added salt and cinnamon and used the full can of coconut milk. Will enjoy the second half as dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I followed directions to the T and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piper_Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I found this a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I was slightly disappointed with the finished product. I added some chicken stock as suggest by many others instead of the water, and also added the entire can of coconut milk. I added extra nutmeg and a pinch of cumin because I felt it was bland. I also felt it needed a large amount of salt added at the end. I also increased to 2 shallots instead of a 1/2. I would try this recipe again but would add some garlic and something else to give it a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States