Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
My family did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a delicious meatless meal. It's almost too good with the addition of some salt, garlic and turmeric, as other reviewers have suggested. This will be made many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Definitely a side dish. The texture is nice and creamy and the flavor is good, but I found it very subtle. Overall, I'd call this recipe "just ok." I added salt and cinnamon and used the full can of coconut milk. Will enjoy the second half as dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I followed directions to the T and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piper_Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I found this a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I was slightly disappointed with the finished product. I added some chicken stock as suggest by many others instead of the water, and also added the entire can of coconut milk. I added extra nutmeg and a pinch of cumin because I felt it was bland. I also felt it needed a large amount of salt added at the end. I also increased to 2 shallots instead of a 1/2. I would try this recipe again but would add some garlic and something else to give it a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars because it's so flexible, and because the other commenters' suggestions have been so great. In fact, making this for the second time I amalgamated almost all of the suggestions--added garlic to the shallots, used the whole can of coconut milk, plus about another quarter cup of water. Added 1-2 tsps of chicken bullion (vegetarian--McKaye's ftw!), added a small dash of nutmeg, a larger dash of cinammon, a dash of thyme, and salt and pepper. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Luebcke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Used other reviewer's advice and added a two cloves of minced garlic and a bit of thyme to rice before cooking. Very good, flavorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Tasted great. I added grated garlic, red onion, green bell peppers and a chicken cube. I also used brown rice instead. I followed the method and the rice was "mushy" so maybe its my pot. Maybe I'll try it again and hopefully get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I thought this was okay when I followed the recipe. I took some suggestions from the reviews. I used more coconut milk, less water, some chicken bouillon, minced garlic, and salt and pepper. My husband and I were not displeased but it was not our favorite thing ever. A few days later, I decided to use up the leftovers, but I wanted to work with some new flavors. I heated a little olive oil in a fry pan and sauteed 2 cloves of garlic for a bit. Next, I added a small can of green chiles, 1 tsp cumin, and more salt and pepper. After heating that through I added the leftover rice and beans. I had a little bit of pork roast leftovers as well so i chopped it into bite sizes and threw it in and cooked over medium heat until it was all heated through. We loved it! The green chiles broadened the flavor but kept that subtle sweetness that I liked about the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States