Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
So great! We make this all the time. A classic for us reminding us of living and traveling in Central and South America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I really liked this, the rest of my crew said, "unusual." You do need to add some flavoring and play around with it a bit. I added garlic, salt, cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I used 2.5 cups of rice a whole can of coconut milk and 2 cups of water and just kept adding water as it cooked. it was hard to get the rice soft. but I loved the flavor of the dish. served with pineapple grilled pork chops. I think it will be great heated up for lunch as leftovers, maybe with some avocado? can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Amazing! But you need to salt the coconut water to taste before you simmer it covered. Always taste your water because that will be the flavor of your rice. It needs at least a teaspoon per cup of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Lord Moris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
My family did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a delicious meatless meal. It's almost too good with the addition of some salt, garlic and turmeric, as other reviewers have suggested. This will be made many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Definitely a side dish. The texture is nice and creamy and the flavor is good, but I found it very subtle. Overall, I'd call this recipe "just ok." I added salt and cinnamon and used the full can of coconut milk. Will enjoy the second half as dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I followed directions to the T and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piper_Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I found this a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I was slightly disappointed with the finished product. I added some chicken stock as suggest by many others instead of the water, and also added the entire can of coconut milk. I added extra nutmeg and a pinch of cumin because I felt it was bland. I also felt it needed a large amount of salt added at the end. I also increased to 2 shallots instead of a 1/2. I would try this recipe again but would add some garlic and something else to give it a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars because it's so flexible, and because the other commenters' suggestions have been so great. In fact, making this for the second time I amalgamated almost all of the suggestions--added garlic to the shallots, used the whole can of coconut milk, plus about another quarter cup of water. Added 1-2 tsps of chicken bullion (vegetarian--McKaye's ftw!), added a small dash of nutmeg, a larger dash of cinammon, a dash of thyme, and salt and pepper. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Luebcke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States