Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hunter
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Yes, it can be bland, but coconut milk can be like that. I added; 4 minced cloves of garlic, 2 tsp of low sodium Chicken broth powder, 4 whole dried red peppers. It all worked out. You know not to mess with the rice after it starts to boil, and after let it cool so it won't be sticky or to moist. Served with thin sliced Chicken and sautéed veggies in a light lemon pepper marinade. Good stuff Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yummy, great way to have a rice dish that is filling all by itself......I added some salt & pepper, thyme and a clove of minced garlic, turned out really well with great flavor!! Thanks Kim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zaina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Even though this sounds exotic with the coconut milk, it's bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
My 5 star is based off my version of this recipe. I do not have a good pot for cooking rice so I microwaved mine. I used brown rice instead of jasmine and used the directions for the brown rice to liquid ratio for microwaves. I used 1 cup rice, 2 cups light coconut milk(didnt want to waste a half can of coconut milk so i used the entire can), 1 cup water, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1 tsp brown sugar. All other ingredients were exact. Cooked mine for 10 mins full power, then 20 mins 50% power in an uncovered 2 quart baking dish. I thought it turned out great. I was looking for Rumbi rice from the Rumbi resturant chain and this came out really close. I would say the salt and sugar is needed for this recipe but it just depends on how you like your rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Yum! This recipe reminds me a little of the black beans and rice I used to order at Bridgetown Grill in Atlanta, Ga. Thanks for posting it I will use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharleyBrul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was incredibly delicious and quick and easy to prepare. I added a tsp sugar, some fish sauce, celery, thyme, garlic, salt and pepper, as well as some chicken. Also used the full can of coconut milk with some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Nice side with spicy jerked chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Similar to Rumbi Rice. Great with grilled chicken and steamed veggies in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I'm not sure what the original recipe tastes like because I took liberty with it based on the reviews and on my own creativity. The version I came up with was awesome though! I made the following modifications: I doubled the recipe for a dinner party; in place of the butter I used 1 T of stick margarine and 1 T virgin coconut oil (it is a coconut dish after all) In place of the shallot (just didn't have one) I used a small onion, also a tsp of minced garlic (the refrigerated kind in a jar) I used plain old long grain rice--I'm sure Jasmine would be awesome, just didn't have any Used the whole can of coconut milk Used two cups of chicken broth in place of the water (freshly made) I was generous with the nutmeg--two full pinches and probably 1 1/2 more or so Then I also threw in about a T of brown sugar, and additional T of coconut oil, a handful of shredded sweetened coconut and a pinch or two of sea salt Then, I used only one can of black beans and that seemed plenty for me, but more would be fine too Could have used a bit more salt, but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Following an earlier recommendation, I added garlic to the recipe and it totally worked wonders. I substituted the butter with canola oil and the nutmeg with cinnamon which I've got to say made all the difference. My boyfriend could not stop eating this dish,have to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States