Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hunter
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Yes, it can be bland, but coconut milk can be like that. I added; 4 minced cloves of garlic, 2 tsp of low sodium Chicken broth powder, 4 whole dried red peppers. It all worked out. You know not to mess with the rice after it starts to boil, and after let it cool so it won't be sticky or to moist. Served with thin sliced Chicken and sautéed veggies in a light lemon pepper marinade. Good stuff Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yummy, great way to have a rice dish that is filling all by itself......I added some salt & pepper, thyme and a clove of minced garlic, turned out really well with great flavor!! Thanks Kim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zaina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Even though this sounds exotic with the coconut milk, it's bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
My 5 star is based off my version of this recipe. I do not have a good pot for cooking rice so I microwaved mine. I used brown rice instead of jasmine and used the directions for the brown rice to liquid ratio for microwaves. I used 1 cup rice, 2 cups light coconut milk(didnt want to waste a half can of coconut milk so i used the entire can), 1 cup water, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1 tsp brown sugar. All other ingredients were exact. Cooked mine for 10 mins full power, then 20 mins 50% power in an uncovered 2 quart baking dish. I thought it turned out great. I was looking for Rumbi rice from the Rumbi resturant chain and this came out really close. I would say the salt and sugar is needed for this recipe but it just depends on how you like your rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Yum! This recipe reminds me a little of the black beans and rice I used to order at Bridgetown Grill in Atlanta, Ga. Thanks for posting it I will use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharleyBrul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was incredibly delicious and quick and easy to prepare. I added a tsp sugar, some fish sauce, celery, thyme, garlic, salt and pepper, as well as some chicken. Also used the full can of coconut milk with some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Nice side with spicy jerked chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Following an earlier recommendation, I added garlic to the recipe and it totally worked wonders. I substituted the butter with canola oil and the nutmeg with cinnamon which I've got to say made all the difference. My boyfriend could not stop eating this dish,have to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was a nice, easy side dish. I did add S&P like people suggested. I used a little less water and a little more coconut milk, less butter and added garlic and mixed in a bunch of green onion at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Similar to Rumbi Rice. Great with grilled chicken and steamed veggies in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States