Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was incredibly delicious and quick and easy to prepare. I added a tsp sugar, some fish sauce, celery, thyme, garlic, salt and pepper, as well as some chicken. Also used the full can of coconut milk with some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Everyone, even my young teenagers, enjoyed this. I used shallots, because that is what I had, and the entire can of coconut milk instead of using the water, forgot the nutmeg - will have to remember it next time. The jasmine rice really is flavorful on its own - might need to add more spices of your liking if you are using plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was the first time I've used jasmine rice and I enjoyed it. SO much better than the brown rice that I use but don't really like. Like other reviews have said, the dish doesn't taste strongly of coconut but it gives it a rich taste, some depth to the rice. I used green onions instead of shallots since I didn't have shallots. Still good. I also put in salt and sugar as other reviewers suggested. My small kids didn't appreciate it as much as I hoped but they enjoyed tasting the coconut milk when I was making it so next time I think I'll stir in some coconut milk to coat it when it'd done cooking and hopefully they'll like it more. I've been wanting to add beans and rice to our menu more and was pleasantly surprised as to how full I felt after eating just one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
My 5 star is based off my version of this recipe. I do not have a good pot for cooking rice so I microwaved mine. I used brown rice instead of jasmine and used the directions for the brown rice to liquid ratio for microwaves. I used 1 cup rice, 2 cups light coconut milk(didnt want to waste a half can of coconut milk so i used the entire can), 1 cup water, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1 tsp brown sugar. All other ingredients were exact. Cooked mine for 10 mins full power, then 20 mins 50% power in an uncovered 2 quart baking dish. I thought it turned out great. I was looking for Rumbi rice from the Rumbi resturant chain and this came out really close. I would say the salt and sugar is needed for this recipe but it just depends on how you like your rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is very yummy, but a little salt was needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was a wonderful dish. I used red onion, chopped garlic, quick cooking brown rice, chicken broth (instead of water), salt and pepper. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I will add a little sugar next time, see if that kicks it up a koch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was a nice, easy side dish. I did add S&P like people suggested. I used a little less water and a little more coconut milk, less butter and added garlic and mixed in a bunch of green onion at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe is a little bland but I still enjoyed it. It tasted like a comfort food to me. It does need salt and sugar works well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I thought this was a bit bland - and it could have gone either a little more sweet, or a little more salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States