Coconut Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was really good. I served it hot with curry. I left out the rasins and almonds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was very rich and probably not something I'd make again, but I enjoyed it. I found it very flavorful, but I made a few changes: I used a 2-to-1 ratio of liquid to quinoa, using mostly coconut milk; subbed raw almond butter for peanut butter; subbed currants for raisins; and added fresh cilantro at the end. I think the cilantro was key. Don't expect this to taste like coconut, though; the sauce is the dominant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
As a stand alone salad, this is good, but not that flavourful, I however cooked Barbequed Thai style Roast Chicken (from this website) and had that ontop and they were superb together as a meal. Can not wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I followed this recipe to the letter and ended up wit hdry tasteless rice. It was a waste of ingredients. Maybe if you doubled the sauce, it might be OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Was very disappointed. The contrast of hot and sweet just was not there despite the combination of raisins and curry paste. Also had issues with the texture not living up to what I am used to in a rice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Horrible recipe. I made this for dinner for four of us. We all thought this was terrible. I made it exactly like the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very good. I didn't have all the ingredients. Used Jasmin instead of Basmati rice. Used oyster sauce rather than fish. My store didn't have curry paste so I used powder (I know, totally different). Made half the recipe, except for the raisins, almonds and coconut, so really they were doubled. Should have made the whole recipe, even with just 4 of us we ate the whole thing and could have eaten more. Making it again now to take to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIEFRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This Rice Salad is AWESOME!!!! Everyone loves it - served hot or cold - doesn't matter - as long as there is enough to go around, they are happy! Your friends & family will rave over this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States