Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by andybugg
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This was really good. I adjusted the rice to liquid ratio using 1cup rice and one can coconut milk plus about 1/2c water. I didn't have fresh ginger so I used powder, I also added peas. Rather than throwing everything in the pot I first sautéed the onion in olive oil for a few minutes on medium, added frozen peas for a few minutes then stirred in the rice and cooked in the oil for a minute before adding everything else and finishing according to the recipe. It was a lovely curry rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I gave it a try, because of the great reviews. I followed the recipe just as it said, and mine came out horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is a wonderful island recipe for me! I did add some more coconut milk vs water and it rocked! Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
The flavours in this rice are delicious, but the proportion of rice to liquid is wrong. There should be twice as much liquid as rice, or you will end up with hard, scorched rice. That said, if this issue is fixed it is wonderful.Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I am an island girl so i knew when i was making this it was going to be great! made it about 3 times already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter and it's taste-less...excited to try now embarassed to serve. I think the coconut milk needs to be replaced with coconut cream (not sure). Anyway thought I would share my experience so others don't end up in the same place as I. Best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
The flavor of this rice was great. However, as everyone has said, the liquid measurements are off. To fix this, I used the measurements and cooking instructions provided in another recipe on this site, "Asian Coconut Rice," by Silvrezs. Using those directions and the liquid measurements from that recipe, this came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freedominwordz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Had to add a little more water which wasn't a big deal, after water cooked out and rice a little undercooked. So a little more water (maybe 1/2 cup, didn't measure) with about 10 more minutes worked great. It was a little on the bland side when it came out but I added a little more of the curry powder and bit more salt and it really came to life. Yummy, will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I added peas and ham for extra flavor, delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States