Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Lovers of Thai cuisine will be disappointed by this bland, undercooked coconut rice. We used Basmati and followed the recipe to the letter and had to add much more water and spice. The cooking time is certainly longer than indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I ended up needing to add more liquid as the rice was not done but it still turned out delicious. Served it with Japanese chicken wings and grilled veggies. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Yup, the others were quite right with the water thing, needs either minute rice instead or a whole lot more liquid. But after added lots more water, it had a good, very mild taste. Make sure not to have this accompany something overpoweringly spicy. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I think this is a good recipie, but not very coconutty. I followed the recipie, blindly, and I had to keep adding more water and it took 1 hour to cook. If only I would have thought about it, and not followed blindly, rice takes two cups of water to cook for every 1 cup of rice. This recipie needs only 1 cup of rice or 4 cups of liquid. Not a bad flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This is a real tasty rice, fits my fried chicken perfectly. I cooked mine in rice cooker. Somehow it took longer than the usual white rice. I had to repeat the cooking process a couple of times. Maybe it was my rice cooker that wasn't smart enough. I'll cook it stovetop next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Good recipe, I followed it exactly the first time except I used basmati instead of long grain rice. The second time I made it I used 2 cups coconut milk and 1/4 c water and added a little more ginger and again used basmati rice (it doesn't take as long to cook). It's a keeper. Guests asked for the recipe too! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Wonderful but I omitted the ginger root. This was a great new way to make rice and it indeed gives any dish an exotic flavor. I served with a chicken dish named "pollo encebollado" and we thought we were eating a dish from a far away land....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
My Husband and I enjoyed this very much! We added more water than the recipe called for, found the rice was not cooking quite right! Flavour was EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I added cashews and peas to this recipe and garnished with toasted coconut when it was done.. it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Very unique taste...my husband and I enjoyed it very much. Adding this recipe to my Thanksgiving dinner list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States