Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I've made this recipe several times over the past few years, always serving it with the "Lamb Masala" recipe I found on this site. They go very well together, as they both include coconut milk and curry. This rice is very nice with Indian food. It does, however, require additional water during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
smells awesome, but bland, it came out a bit soggy (might have been my fault), but still it wasn't what I expected. I added some fresh garlic, chopped carrot, and extra ginger and just not a wowser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I was disappointed with this recipie. The liquid ratio to rice was really off, and I had to add quite a bit more liquid to get the rice to cook correctly. The flavor was fine, but would add some raisins for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This makes a very good rice, even done with brown rice instead of white. I did need to add another 1/2 cup of water, and after tasting the final product a few drops of soy sauce brightened it up a bit. Great flavor, slightly sweet and creamy, and a dollop of plain yogurt and handful of parsley leaves accompany it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I made this recipe with the Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) from this site. While the chicken was very good, although relatively complex to make for such a simple dish, this rice recipe was terrible. The ratio rice to water/liquid was completely wrong. I had to continually add liquid to keep the rice from scorching. In the end, it did not even taste remotely like coconut although I added some grated coconut to it for some texture and flavor. It ended up being a gummy mess. It's too bad... but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annalisa Schmad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Bland, and liquid ration off for sure - so I tried to adjust - used much less water, more coconut milk (14 oz was in the can) and less rice to intensify the coconut flavor - also used ginger paste rather than fresh. I chose to try this recipe because of the rating and a lot of people had tried it - but advise to look for another that has more flavor, or just stick with plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Bland, boring, mushy....yuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I used light coconut milk and I added a bit of fresh coconut to increase the coconut flavor. I also added quite a bit of paprika to spice it up a little more. We ate it with our family-favorite Jerked Chicken, and everybody really liked it! I will say that this is not a side dish for an everyday meal, as the flavor is very unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Very good, but very rich. I like to serve it with baked chicken breasts marinated in soy ginger sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
The amount of rice to liquid is off. I reduced the rice to 1 and 1/2 cups, and still had to add more liquid (I used chicken stock). It was also bland. If you've had flavorful coconut rice to compare, this one is weak. And that liquid thing...it was a hassle to keep checking the rice and pouring in more stock. The end result was quite mediocre and the texture was dry - not tender. My son thought it was fine (he's 13), so I will give it 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States