Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
argh, I made this without reading the reviews and using my own good judgment. I thought the recipe sounded off as I was putting it together but went with it anyways (big mistake). The rice to liquid ration is WAY off and I figured this out after a full 20 mins of cooking time ( I will chalk it up to a full day at work and trying to prepare more than one meal at a time). I tried to add more water, alas after 1 hour of cooking time I had a big pot of gloppy undercooked rice.. If you are going to try this recipe do heed the reviews (as I mistakenly forgot to read) so yours does not turn out like mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This did not turn out for me at all. Not enough liquid as others have stated. The flavor was ok but the texture was a mess due to all the adjusting i had to do during cooking. You can taste the curry more than you can the coconut. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was heavenly. I have made this several times as a side to Asian dishes. I haden't worked much with coconut milk, remember to shake the can wildly before opening it. Also, SunnyByrd (one of my favorite cooks) is correct about this recipe, you need to adjust the liquid/rice ratio, after that is done, it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Head

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
needs more curry. Add red pepper, garam masala and coriander for an added kick. Goes best with fish, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
The main problem with this recipe is that the liquid-to-rice measurements are off. I'm amazed that it got so many good reviews considering that there is either half as much liquid or twice as much rice as needed for it to turn out. I adjusted my liquids and followed the rest of the recipe. The flavors are good - I like the curry and ginger, but also thought it could use a little sweetness and/or more coconut flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I added peas to mine and it was super-tasty. I also just used regular 'ol powder ginger and used regular 'ol white rice. It totally satisfied my midnight curry craving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireMedicJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe. I've actually made minor addjustments to it to add my own flair...(namely seafood). MAde it for a potluck and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I also used 1 3/4 cup rice and 1/4 cup more coconut milk and about half cup more water. Also used about 2 tsp. powdered ginger and half tsp. garlic powder. Added raisins at end. It cooked in about 25 minutes. In future, would probably add a shake of red pepper and some fresh pineapple at end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
this was an excellent rice recipe! i added red pepper flakes and topped the whole thing with a spicy pepper sauce satay of mushrooms/garlic/tofu. this is now part of my staple collection, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I loved this dish! It was super easy and went great with fish. This will now become a staple side dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States