Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is our family's favorite way to make rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Definitely add some extra water in order to cook the rice properly. I also added garlic, some sugar and peas to the mix. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefasheroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Depending of the type of rice, the amounts of water and coconut milk have to be changed; anyhow, maintaining the proportion of 2 parts of coconut milk to 1 part of water, all in my family loved the result. And that without the green garnish shown in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernanDoylet
Home Town: Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was yummy! I added a couple teaspoons of sugar (because someone from Thailand recommended I do so). Next time, I'll try red onions for a little more onion-y flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahfromgeorgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
We really enjoyed this rice-a nice change from the others. I made lots and put the remainder in a ziplock bag in the freezer and pulled it out for a later meal-yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This recipe calls for two cups of rice, but the liquid measurements aren't correct. I substituted chicken broth for water and ended up using another whole can of chicken broth to get enough liquid into the recipe, once I realized I'd been steered wrong. The end result was alright, but not what I was expecting. Will be trying the recipe again using only one cup of rice and leaving the rest of the ingredients as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This Coconut Rice is delicious! Normally I don't make changes, but after reading previous reviews, I did make some changes. First of all, I reduced the amount of rice to 1-1/4cups instead of 2 cups. Also, I love curry so I doubled the amount of curry. I thought the coconut flavour really came through - I know other reviewers had trouble with that. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I adjusted the liquids ratio and cooking time to use brown rice, subbed chicken stock for water, added some garlic and sauteed my onion, garlic and ginger in a bit of oil before adding the liquids and rice. I also toasted some coconut and chopped cashews that I mixed into the rice right before serving. I topped each serving with chopped cilantro. With my modifications this recipe gets five stars, I'll make it often, my husband ate three helpings of it and all three of my 2 year olds enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Definitely different and sweet. I added some shredded coconut and definitely added more water as I cooked it (otherwise it was too thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
argh, I made this without reading the reviews and using my own good judgment. I thought the recipe sounded off as I was putting it together but went with it anyways (big mistake). The rice to liquid ration is WAY off and I figured this out after a full 20 mins of cooking time ( I will chalk it up to a full day at work and trying to prepare more than one meal at a time). I tried to add more water, alas after 1 hour of cooking time I had a big pot of gloppy undercooked rice.. If you are going to try this recipe do heed the reviews (as I mistakenly forgot to read) so yours does not turn out like mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States