Coconut Pumpkin Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I baked this in my Wilton 12x12 square pan to make this into a cake (bake for 35-38 minutes). I did leave out the nutmeg b/c we do not care for that flavor & used two tsp. of cinnamon. I did not want to waste so much of the left over coconut milk, so I made a glaze using 1 3/4 cups powdered sugar and 1/4 cup of coconut milk. I drizzled this over top and then topped with coconut. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Very Moist! I scaled the recipe to 10 servings and used 2 mini loaf pans. I subbed canola oil in place of vegetable oil. Also, I had to use sweeten coconut so I cut the sugars in half. Baked 35 mins. @ 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is a great pumpkin cake (a vegan one at that)! I like to toss the batter without nuts into a bundt pan and bake for about 60 mins. I use the rest of the coconut milk for a glaze. Just pour the coconut milk and 1/2 sugar into a sauce pan, boil for about 5 min, stirring constantly, and then drizzle on top of the cake. Top it off with a little more shredded coconut and you have yourself a beautiful coconut pumpkin bundt cake! FYI the glaze does not get hard, so if it is best to store in cake pan rather then cover with aluminum foil. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I would consider this a dessert bread, but it is excellent. I made this for 2 different Thanksgiving dinners, and both places it got rave reviews - even from the pickiest eaters! I followed the recipe exactly except left out the nuts because I'm not a big fan of nuts in my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
amazing bread! I make this every Christmas and give it out as part of gifts. The receivers always rave. It's so most and flavorful. This will now be one recipe I make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I have both dairy and egg allergies - so this recipe was heaven sent for me! I am used to the texture being this way (as one gets used to for not being able to use real eggs in a recipe), but this was better than I expected. I did half of the sugar, used lite coconut milk instead of regular, used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white flour, then followed the rest (going a little over on the spices) - even the cook time was right on exact for one big loaf! This was very good - not too sweet the way I cooked it, and it did come out moist as intended. It did seem like a whole lot for 1 loaf pan (I thought 2 would be flat without eggs, as most recipes usually are) - so I used 1 glass pan and the bread did rise out over the top - but without spilling - which was quite impressive. It made one HUGE yummy loaf =) Thanks for thinking of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I didn't trust the recipe without eggs, so I added 2. Didn't have coconut milk, substituted evaporated milk (I was using up stuff in my cabinet) and made these as muffins. Right now (20min out of the oven) I don't think they are sweet enough. Cream Cheese icing may improve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAH243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
DH says this is very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Marvelous recipe. I made it often while living on the Caribbean coast of Nicaragua, using fresh-squeezed coconut milk, hand-grated coconut, and canned pumpkin from a church pantry that nobody local knew what to do with. Used turbinado sugar since that's all we had. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States