Coconut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is a great and easy recipe, I did some alterations and it came out super delicious, instead of regular milk I used coconut milk that comes in a can, also I cooked it at 335 F for the one hour. I like it better without the glaze, glaze was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I'm not too impressed with this cake. I wanted a pound cake, and the texture of this doesn't qualify as that type of cake in my opinion. It doesn't taste bad, but I wouldn't call it good, and a waste of expensive ingredients that could have been used in something better. I bake regularly and don't feel like there was error on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Scrumptious! I made this for my mom's birthday and everyone raved about it! The pound cake was moist and just the right density. The crisp outside was a wonderful surprise. Awesome recipe! Every year my mom requests a coconut cake for her birthday. Usually I make some kind of layered coconut cake with frosting. This year I wanted something different so I tried this recipe. I'm so glad I did! We are going to make this again and again and again! Thanks to all the reviewers who suggested adding a little more coconut extract. We love coconut so I doubled the amount in the cake and in the glaze. Then I toasted some coconut and sprinkled it on top when the glaze was still warm. I left it overnight and served it the next day since many said it was better the next day. I also put the coconut into the food processor before adding it to the cake and I substituted buttermilk for the milk because we love our pound cakes heavy. YUM! I'm looking forward to tying different things with this recipe - like adding pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this yesterday for a holiday party for a few of us. Very tasty and very moist! I followed the recipe as is and found no problems. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I will not make this cake again. I like my pound cakes to be bigger. 2 cups of flour is just not enough this cake does not really make for presentation. Other than that it tasted good with modifications of 1 cup of coconut in the batter and like others 2 tsps of coconut extract in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this for my brother's birthday cake a couple of years back since he loved this coconut cake our great aunt used to make. Since then, I've been forced to make this for multiple birthdays, bake sales, picnics, weddings, and showers. It's delicious! I don't put the walnuts in the glaze though and when I pour the glaze over the cake, I usually poke holes in it so it seeps through and adds flavor. I've also made this a few times as little cupcakes and added a little cinnamon to the batter, they turn out great and great for bake sales (sold out in a matter of minutes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
As far as taste goes, this is a 5 star cake. But there are a couple of things I will change if I make it again. The glaze is excellent, but more of it ended up on the cake plate and in the "hole" in the center, so I would definitely make in a couple of loaf pans next time to avoid losing so much of the glaze. Also, the cake turned out too brown, although I followed the instructions exactly. It was moist and yummy, but I would try some of the other suggestions if I made again, such as using coconut milk. Also, how much coconut is 3 1/2 ounces?? I used 1 cup. A better measurement would have been appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Iron_Lady12
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Soooo nailed this cake!! And just like another reviewer mentioned, it tastes even better the day after because of the crunchiness of the glaze. I had to scale down the ingredients because I made it in a 9x5 loaf pan but I followed the recipe to the letter, and it yielded a tasty, moist, sweet cake that lasted about a week in my home. I definitely will save this on and bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iron_Lady12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I stress bake so these days I cook a lot. But usually after liking the spoon or beaters I leave the finished product alone. But this cake is haunting me. I could eat half of it in one sitting and not even bat an eyelash. I gave it for stars just because I will change a few things nest time. It could be a tiny bit moister for me but I did only have skim milk to use which didn't help. So next time I might add some sour cream or coconut cream to the batter or use coconut milk instead of milk. And the glaze worked great but next time I will put it on a rack and pour over. I put it on the plate and the glaze went everywhere and it wound up sitting in a pool of sticky glaze that went everywhere!! Live and learn. But this was an amazing from scratch cake. I have a white cake that you make into a coconut cake I think I like this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
So moist and delicious! I substituted coconut milk, as another reviewer suggested, and added a tiny bit of salt. I didn't have anything to measure the 3.5 oz of shredded coconut so I used a 1/2 cup in the batter. Made cupcakes with them and used a coconut cream cheese frosting. Oh man, I'm in love. Yay- a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States