Coconut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
My whole family loves this cake. Try it hot with icecream, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
Delicious coconut cake. It has just the right amount of sweetness and it's moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
e x c e l l a n t !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Yum! This cake is even better the day after it's baked. The crunchiness that the glaze adds is unexpected, but welcome. Definitely a keeper. My only suggestion would be to add a little more coconut extract to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. It was very easy to make and had a great flavor. It was very popular at our New Years party. It went very well with coconut gelato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I MADE THIS CAKE AND SPLIT THE RECIPE INTO SMALL CAKES AND A LOAF TIN. I CUT THE CAKE THAT WAS IN THE LOAF TIN IN HALF AND GAVE IT TO MY INLAWS. MY MUM IN LAW ATE ALL THAT WAS SENT IN ONE NIGHT AND THE FATHER IN LAW, WELL HE GOT NONE. AS GOOD AS HER MUM USED TO MAKE AND THE REST OF THE CAKE WELL THERE WASNT ANY LEFT SO YOU CAN TELL HOW GOOD IT WAS. I SUBSTITUTED SHREDDED COCONUT FOR DESICCATED WHICH MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE AND I DIDNT USE THE GLAZE. ALSO SUBSTITUTE COCONUT EXTRACT FOR VANILLA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I made this for my wife and father-in-law. They both said "this is a keeper"; we all loved it. After reading other reviews, I increased the coconut extract to three teaspoons in the cake and to one and a half teaspoons in the glaze. I added ten minutes to the cooking time. Also, I browned 1/2 cup coconut in the oven broiler, then sprinkled it on top of the glaze after spreading the glaze on the cake. Thanks, Janie, "It's oh so good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Excellent! I made this yesterday in loaf pans. I made four loafs and they are gone! I gave them away to family for the holiday and everyone loves it! I didn't have coconut extract so I used vanilla instead and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is a beautiful recipe! I used olive oil instead of butter and powdered coconut instead of flaked. It had an incredible texture and was gone before I could take it out of the pan! Best served warm with a glass of milk. It's so yummy it didn't even need frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shamong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seogwipo, Cheju-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe makes a solid, moist pound cake. I doubled the extract because I really like the taste of coconut. The cake tastes even better the next day (if you have the patience to wait that long). It is the first pound cake I've made by myself and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States