Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I love these kind of cake recipes because they are so easy and so yummy! I did a few things differently-I didn't use the sweetened condensed milk because I don't think it needs it. For the topping I mixed the whipped cream with coconut cream pudding (that I made only using 1 cup of milk instead of 2) and then sprinkled more coconut on top like the recipe says. Soooo good! I think the longer it sits the better because the flavors come together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsZabeth
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Love this recipe. Follow it exactly and it'll turn out scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have made this cake several times and it tastes wonderful and is so easy to make. The only change I make is I use French Vanilla cake mix instead of white. I think that gives the cake extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DocChef
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made this recipe for my DH's B-day. I couldn't find coconut cream so I used a can of coconut milk. Otherwise, I made it exactly as the recipe said. I wanted to make it into a round cake, so I used 3 8-inch cake pans, buttered the bottom of the pan and put parchment paper over it, and then buttered the parchment paper and the sides. Then I cooked all 3 cake pans in the oven until done. I quickly poked holes in them via chopsticks and poured the mixture of coconut milk and condensed milk over it (the coconut milk really thinned down the condensed milk, so I didn't need to heat it up to thin it). Then I waited for it to cool before flipping them over to assemble the birthday cake. I used a third of the whipped cream and mixed it with some coconut flakes to put in between the cake layers. It was a little scary flipping the cake over to layer them, but the parchment paper and butter really helped. It wasn't too hard to position either with the whipped cream in between the layers. Then I frosted the whole cake with whipped cream and dusted toasted coconut flakes all over. It sat in the fridge until dinner time when we enjoyed it. With coconut milk, it was a little wet at the bottom of the cake after sitting in the fridge, and it was a little too sweet for my taste. But overall, very pretty cake and overall very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is my favorite cake! I made it as said except I toasted the coconut. Delicious! Yes, it is very sweet, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
really good a little big too sweet ill use have condensed milk and more coconut cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
yes I tried this cake. It's delicious just like it is. I was wondering if you could use frozen coconut instead of flaked. Has anyone tried it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I been making this for so very long! But instead of pouring the ingredients on top i use a baster and poke holes and then fill them with the mixture. the cake is best cold and every bite you'll get just a bit of gooeyness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I love all things coconut and I love tres leches cake so I was excited to come across this recipe thinking it's like combining two of my favorite things and I wasn't disapointed! Now this cake isn't as wet as a tres leches cake and that's fine, it's not supposed to be. I couldn't stomach using a boxed cake or fake whipped topping so I admit I made my own white cake and my own stabilized whipped cream and we all loved it. When I made my cake I cut the amount of vanilla called for in half and replaced the other half with coconut extract. Highly recomend this cake whether you use a boxed mix or make your own cake but I strongly recomend making your own whipped cream either a regular whipped cream or a stabilized whipped cream recipe (there are several good ones here on allrecipes) they'll both taste better than the fake whipped topping, the only difference being the stabilized whipped cream holds up better rather than "melting" or deflating some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Excellent! Put 2 tsp coconut extract into cake batter. Nice and moist and not heavy. Keeps pretty well in the refrigerator too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States