Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I thought this would be good as a chocolate-coconut cake, and it absolutely was. The only thing I did differently was to use a devil's food cake mix and light whipped topping. I also lightly toasted the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Easy to make. I substituted 2 oz of coconut rum for water in the cake mix. Really added a great flavor to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I have used "Sweet cakes" method.. store didn't have coconut cream pudding, so I got vanilla, used french vanilla cake, and omitted the SCM, as others recommended. So far, I tasted everything before it is all put together. I have a great feeling about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is wonderful but I do think there is an error with this recipe. I think it should be coconut milk with sweetened condensed milk OR cream of coconut. Coconut milk is found with the Asian food section and is unsweetened. Cream of coconut is found in liquor stores and used to make Piña Coladas. It is very sweet on its own!! I made mine mixing 14oz of sweetened condensed milk and the unsweetened coconut milk! Perfect!!! Had quite a bit of milk left over too...can't imagine 16 oz of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Really quite good! It's much better after it refrigerates a day or so as well. The weak part of the cake is the cool whip, which just really has an overwhelming fake taste. I think next time I'll try fresh whipped cream or maybe even coconut milk whipped cream. You definitively do not need the sweetened condensed milk as others have noted. It is plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I used chocolate cake and coconut syrup ( like used in cocktails)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This cake was excellent! It was the wings for my daughter's angel birthday cake and it was a hit! I followed the directions to a T and was a little worried about cutting and moving the wings into place, but the cake was not soggy at all (it was refridgeratered overnight before moving). I got many complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is super delicious! I followed the recipe as written. So easy and definitely a repeat it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've made this two ways, with and without the sweetened condensed milk. Just the coconut cream is perfect. The sweetened condensed milk is not necessary at all(a bit too sweet)! I added coconut extract to the cake and the whipped cream (real not cool-whip). Very easy and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I love these kind of cake recipes because they are so easy and so yummy! I did a few things differently-I didn't use the sweetened condensed milk because I don't think it needs it. For the topping I mixed the whipped cream with coconut cream pudding (that I made only using 1 cup of milk instead of 2) and then sprinkled more coconut on top like the recipe says. Soooo good! I think the longer it sits the better because the flavors come together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States