Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was delicious. The only thing I did different is to use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I never use vegetable oil and the coconut oil gave an additional hint of coconut flavor to the cake. It was a big hit with my family! I cut individual slices and topped with fresh whippes cream, sweetened shredded coconut, and a maraschino cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
You can get coconut cream at Trader Joes. The stuff you get in liquor department is full of sugar too. Coconut cream is just very thick natural coconut w/o sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made a home made cake with King Arthur unbleached cake flour which calls for almond ext. Then followed the recipe. I used 2 cups real heavy cream and added 1/2 c. Powdered sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla put that on top of cooled cake and sprinkled bagged coconut on top. It is amazing. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Easy and big elegant flavor! I’m so happy that I made this for Christmas dessert. I read the reviews that this was too sweet and recommendations to cut the sweetness by only using either the cream of coconut or condensed milk…don’t listen to them. It’s not too sweet, it’s perfect…it’s cake people! I mixed about 2/3 of the bag of coconut flakes with cool whip which was at room temperature and frosted the cake and its layers. This, along with the cream of coconut gave enough of a coconut flavor and didn’t need to add any further coconut flavor to the cake batter. I made this cake twice in less than 1 week. For the first time, 1 basic white cake mix box was enough for two 9 inch round Calphalon cake pans, lined with parchment paper at the bottom. There was enough of the cream of coconut and condensed milk mixture for both cakes. It’s seems like your drenching the cake with too liquid much but as the cake cools it absorbs it all. I let both cake rounds sit in the refrigerator 2 days before frosting and cutting into it. I think cutting into it any earlier it will fall apart. The second time I made this cake I used a bundt pan and it feels like because of the thickness of the cake it didn’t absorb the liquid all the way through…it was still good though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very good - better after about 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naboria
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very delicious easy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Cake came out great! I used devils foods cake and topped with coconut plus sliced almonds. My husband called it the Almond Joy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajzaanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Delicious! Loved this cake which is now our favorite cake for birthdays and special occasions. Thank you for this one Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleescoolmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This cake is wonderful. It is so moist and delicious. My all time favorite. If you could rate it more than 5 stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States