Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe is very versatile. Try Pineapple Coconut with a pineapple cake mix and Chocolate Coconut with a Devilsfood cake mix. Also, I often use only half of the Cream of Coconut/Sweetened Condensed Milk mixture and freeze the rest for another cake later. The cake is still very moist and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I have made this cake before and this is what you do: Bake in two 9" cake pans. While cakes bake, toast coconut in a skillet for a couple of minutes, till light brown. Make fresh whipped cream, add coconut flavoring. Warm coconut cream (NOT cream of coconut) and scm in microwave, just until blended. Allow cake layers to cool,remove from pans. Frost bottom layer with half the whipped cream and toasted coconut. Cover with top layer and carefully poke holes through both layers using the narrow end of a chop stick. Slowly spoon (or pour) the warm cream mixture into the holes and over the top layer. Be sure to do this very slowly, it will soak into both layers. Top with the remaining whipped cream, toasted coconut and fresh sliced strawberries. Garnish with berries around the edges of the plate. This is a great recipe, it's just the assembly and using coconut cream vs cream of coconut that needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made this for a work function. It was incredible!! Moist and very tasty. Also really easy to make. Thank you for sharing. This is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I am a baker & this is my husband's favorite cake!! Instead of cool whip, I top it with a coconut seven minute icing. To take away some of the sweetness, use unsweetened coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This cake is absolutely delicious! I didn't have the cake mix, so I just made a white buttermilk cake. My husband was amazed at how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Stone Callaway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gravette, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was so easy and good. I made it into an Almond Joy Cake, by adding some Almond extract to a Devils Food Cake; and to the frosting, which I used Pastry Pride. I grated some chocolate for the top and added slivered almonds. Everyone really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WRamey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The recipe as is gets four stars. To turn this cake into a 5 star cake I added 1 teaspoon of coconut flavoring in the batter and threw in a couple handfuls of coconut. Poke holes in cake using a wooden spoon handle. Otherwise, the holes are not big enough. I used 1 can of coco lopez cream of coconut (make sure you stir thoroughly before using as there is always oil in the bottom of the can) and mixed with 1/2 can of sweetened condensed milk. Poured on top. I used the whipped cream mousse frosting and instead of adding vanilla to the pudding I used 1 teaspoon coconut flavoring and then topped with flaked coconut. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
excellent cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This cake is fabulous! The only change I made was not using the sweetened condensed milk. I am not a big fan of super sweet cake and frosting and I found that just using the cream of coconut was perfect. This is very easily my favorite cake and of course, my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

An easy, peachy, dump cake ready in under an hour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States