Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I'm not too fond of coconut but I'm glad I gave this recipe a try. I used the amount of cream of coconut and sweetened condensed milk that the recipe called for. I almost cut back on it and I'm glad I didn't. I loved how moist the cake was without being soggy. It was perfect. I didn't think it was overly sweet as some commented. The only thing I did differently was made my own whipped cream from off this site and stirred in the coconut flakes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvsom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I just made this cake for my husband's birthday. It was a huge it! I used a can of Thai unsweetened coconut milk because I couldn't find coconut cream. It still turned out yummy and not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
It was very good, matter of fact too good! I did heed the warning of previous reviews about the sweetness of the cake, so I used a can of cream of coconut and about 1/4 of a can of condensed sweetened milk and it was plenty sweet enough! I believe if I had used the entire can of condensed milk it would've been too sweet for my taste. My family said it as good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My family and I did not care for this cake at all. It just came out soggy. We will definitely not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this for my father-inlaw for Easter and I will get back to you tonight on how he like it!! His mother-in-law made one that was to die for and we can't find the recipe so hopefully this will be close!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Ridge, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've made this a few times now. Instead of using a cake mix, I make my cake from scratch and I make my own whipped topping. This is, by far, my favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the BEST cake! I use lightly sweetened fresh whipped cream instead of cool whip. Some in my family prefer the cool whip, some the fresh whipped cream, but since I'm making the cake I do it the way I like it! I think it is best if you make the cake at least a few hours ahead of serving and allow the cream of coconut to soak in while refrigerated. Then add the whipped cream and flaked coconut right before serving. There is never any left, so I don't know how it tastes the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband said this cake was in the top 3 best cakes he ever ate! Found the cream of coconut in the liquor aisle by the Pina Colada. Thanks for the hint. I used 1/2 a can of sweetened condensed milk and it was perfect. Also used the coconut extract. Used a straw to make bigger holes and I felt that more cream went in. Pour it slow. It really is an easy cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The cake is so so good . After a few times I added pineapple on top of cake and added cherries . People get mad at me when I don't make the cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States