Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Cream of coconut where have you been all my life?! Awesome recipe - though I did omit the sweetened condensed milk and made my own whipped cream. I also added coconut extract to the cake batter and to the whipped cream. This cake tastes even better after it sits in the fridge for a day. Thanks for satisfying my coconut craving! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Very soggy - use less condensed milk or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I guess this is the first coconut cake I have made it was so easy and it was a hit for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDALSO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Excellent! I made some adjustments to the recipe. I deleted the oil from the cake recipe adding an extra large egg (4 large eggs altogether) and added a cup of flaked coconut to the mixture before pouring into the 9X11 pan. I used a little less of the Cream of Coconut (10oz) and sweetened condensed milk (8oz) heating a little before pouring on the cake using the straw to poke holes as others have suggested. When cooled in the refrigerator I served individual pieces with Rediwhip (real cream version)out of the can and topped with toasted coconut. Thanks to all the others for their suggestions which I utilized for my version. I do rely on all of your comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My husband has never gushed over a cake like he did this one. He said this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe and the flavor was good. But it fell apart and had to be scooped out with a spoon. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Everyone loved this. The only changes I made were making my own whipped cream for the topping, and I lightly toasted the coconut in the oven before adding it on top of the whipped cream. As other reviewers have said, make sure you use coconut cream not coconut milk. Coconut cream is found in the alcohol section with the drink mixes. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I absolutely love coconut cake and decided to make this cake for my birthday. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and poured the cream mixture slowly over the cake to make sure it was spread equally throughout the cake. With the amount of liquid, I was afraid the cake would be really soggy but it was perfectly moist. The only reason I'm not giving it 4 stars is because it was a bit sweet and didn't have a pronounced coconut flavor even with all the coconut on the top. Maybe next time, I'll add some coconut to the cake mix before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I made this for my son's birthday yesterday and oh my delicious and moist. It reminded me of the peppridge farms cake you buy in the freezer section at the grocery store; only this is by far superior. I did make my own white cake from scratch as also real whipped cream. Not into the boxed or tubs! I will definitely be making this again. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States