Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My husband has never gushed over a cake like he did this one. He said this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe and the flavor was good. But it fell apart and had to be scooped out with a spoon. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Everyone loved this. The only changes I made were making my own whipped cream for the topping, and I lightly toasted the coconut in the oven before adding it on top of the whipped cream. As other reviewers have said, make sure you use coconut cream not coconut milk. Coconut cream is found in the alcohol section with the drink mixes. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I absolutely love coconut cake and decided to make this cake for my birthday. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and poured the cream mixture slowly over the cake to make sure it was spread equally throughout the cake. With the amount of liquid, I was afraid the cake would be really soggy but it was perfectly moist. The only reason I'm not giving it 4 stars is because it was a bit sweet and didn't have a pronounced coconut flavor even with all the coconut on the top. Maybe next time, I'll add some coconut to the cake mix before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I made this for my son's birthday yesterday and oh my delicious and moist. It reminded me of the peppridge farms cake you buy in the freezer section at the grocery store; only this is by far superior. I did make my own white cake from scratch as also real whipped cream. Not into the boxed or tubs! I will definitely be making this again. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Made this yesterday for a birthday, it was awesome. Everyone had a second slice! I used the Betty Crocker extra-moist white cake + the zest of 1 lime added to the batter. My grocery store didn`t have cream of coconut, so I put coconut milk in the fridge and used the thickest cream portion of it that rose to the top of the can. Scared it would be too sweet, I only used half the can of condensed milk. Lime and coconut,yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Very easy, very delicious! Everyone loved it. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, except did not use quite as much Cool Whip and coconut as was called for. I used the "creamy" style of Cool Whip. Be sure to pour the cream of coconut/sweetened condensed milk mixture very slowly over the cake - I used a large spoon to ladle it on slowly, so that it would soak evenly into the holes and not just run to the sides of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Omg this cake is to die for! My mother in law requested I make a coconut cake and found this recipe. It was a hit with everyone that ate it. I did however use yellow cake mix and didn't put in the whole coconut cream and condensed milk mixture, just half of it. It still tasted great, I recommend everyone who loves coconut make this delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
10 STARS! My husband wanted a moist delicious coconut cake for his birthday....well, this is it! I used a butter cake mix and instead of the cup of water added coconut cream and rum flavoring. I like so many others was worried about the sweetened condensed milk and the cream of coconut....(the bottle I got was with the wines and had 21 ounces. so I used the 7 extra ounces instead of the water in the mix.) I poked the holes and poured all of the mixture over the cake...let it sit on the counter for a couple of hours and it soaked up every bit of it. I used a can of "whipped cream" icing and lots of fresh coconut which I sort of pressed into the icing. DELICIOUS!!! My husband just said I could stop making all other cakes and just make this one for every occasion. It is moist and just right....hard to believe but it's NOT too sweet! Perfect!!! Will be making this cake for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanBow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States