Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
It was very good, matter of fact too good! I did heed the warning of previous reviews about the sweetness of the cake, so I used a can of cream of coconut and about 1/4 of a can of condensed sweetened milk and it was plenty sweet enough! I believe if I had used the entire can of condensed milk it would've been too sweet for my taste. My family said it as good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My family and I did not care for this cake at all. It just came out soggy. We will definitely not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this for my father-inlaw for Easter and I will get back to you tonight on how he like it!! His mother-in-law made one that was to die for and we can't find the recipe so hopefully this will be close!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Ridge, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've made this a few times now. Instead of using a cake mix, I make my cake from scratch and I make my own whipped topping. This is, by far, my favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the BEST cake! I use lightly sweetened fresh whipped cream instead of cool whip. Some in my family prefer the cool whip, some the fresh whipped cream, but since I'm making the cake I do it the way I like it! I think it is best if you make the cake at least a few hours ahead of serving and allow the cream of coconut to soak in while refrigerated. Then add the whipped cream and flaked coconut right before serving. There is never any left, so I don't know how it tastes the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband said this cake was in the top 3 best cakes he ever ate! Found the cream of coconut in the liquor aisle by the Pina Colada. Thanks for the hint. I used 1/2 a can of sweetened condensed milk and it was perfect. Also used the coconut extract. Used a straw to make bigger holes and I felt that more cream went in. Pour it slow. It really is an easy cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The cake is so so good . After a few times I added pineapple on top of cake and added cherries . People get mad at me when I don't make the cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe is very versatile. Try Pineapple Coconut with a pineapple cake mix and Chocolate Coconut with a Devilsfood cake mix. Also, I often use only half of the Cream of Coconut/Sweetened Condensed Milk mixture and freeze the rest for another cake later. The cake is still very moist and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I have made this cake before and this is what you do: Bake in two 9" cake pans. While cakes bake, toast coconut in a skillet for a couple of minutes, till light brown. Make fresh whipped cream, add coconut flavoring. Warm coconut cream (NOT cream of coconut) and scm in microwave, just until blended. Allow cake layers to cool,remove from pans. Frost bottom layer with half the whipped cream and toasted coconut. Cover with top layer and carefully poke holes through both layers using the narrow end of a chop stick. Slowly spoon (or pour) the warm cream mixture into the holes and over the top layer. Be sure to do this very slowly, it will soak into both layers. Top with the remaining whipped cream, toasted coconut and fresh sliced strawberries. Garnish with berries around the edges of the plate. This is a great recipe, it's just the assembly and using coconut cream vs cream of coconut that needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States