Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This is my favorite coconut cake; I have been making it for years. I made it gluten free by using a gluten free cake mix instead but no one could tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
My family and I loved this recipe but I made the cake twice - I had to toss the first attempt. I did the first cake (white cake)in a bundt pan (bad idea!) and let it cool on a wire rack to the point I could turn it out on a plate. It just wouldn't soak up the liquid very well. Second cake was in a 9x13 Pyrex and it stayed in the Pyrex. I drilled the cake with lots and lots of holes and poured on probably 2/3rds of the liquid. I stopped when it seemed like the cake was well-saturated. Later, when I iced it with the frozen topping I topped it with fresh strawberries and toasted coconut. Success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mishanyapozvizds
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I like this cake. It was good and moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
i love this cake!! i have also made it as a layer cake, but its pretty tricky with those heavy and deliciously saturated layers. if you make it into a layer cake refrigerate it overnight before removing from the pans so the cake has time to firm up. be prepared for a delicate assembly. i don't care for cool whip so i always use frosting. cream of coconut can be hard to find. my store (HyVee) carries it in the mixed drink and cocktail section in a squeeze bottle, not a can. i have seen it canned, but not every store carries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This recipe was delicious! I used the entire can of coconut milk/sweetened condensed milk combination. 1/2 would be sufficient. Kept well in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this cake just as the recipe states, and it was fantastic! I made it for work for a birthday, and there were no leftovers. I am not a fan of coconut, but I have to say it was delicious! So easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Delicious easy cake!! My family raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Made this yesterday and we love it. I did make some changes after reading other reviews. I used a yellow butter cake mix and used pineapple juice in place of the water called for. I only used 1/2 of the sweetened condensed milk. I also mixed about 3/4 cup coconut flakes into the batter and mixed coconut into the cool whip rather than sprinkling on top. I will be making this again might try a pineapple cake mix next time with coconut water in place of the water called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I give it a 4.5. I added 3/4 tsp. coconut extract to the cake and use coconut milk instead of cream of coconut, because it's what I had on hand. I think the coconut flavor was weak, but the moistness didn't suffer in the least. In fact, I couldn't get the cake to soak up all of the liquid, even though I let it sit for over 5 hours. I only used an 8 oz. tub of Cool Whip and 1 cup of coconut for the topping...it was enough. Any more would have been too much. Overall, I think it's a good cake...easy to make too. I will use this recipe again...it's a good one to take a cake to an event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

An easy, peachy, dump cake ready in under an hour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States