Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mishanyapozvizds
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I like this cake. It was good and moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
i love this cake!! i have also made it as a layer cake, but its pretty tricky with those heavy and deliciously saturated layers. if you make it into a layer cake refrigerate it overnight before removing from the pans so the cake has time to firm up. be prepared for a delicate assembly. i don't care for cool whip so i always use frosting. cream of coconut can be hard to find. my store (HyVee) carries it in the mixed drink and cocktail section in a squeeze bottle, not a can. i have seen it canned, but not every store carries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This recipe was delicious! I used the entire can of coconut milk/sweetened condensed milk combination. 1/2 would be sufficient. Kept well in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this cake just as the recipe states, and it was fantastic! I made it for work for a birthday, and there were no leftovers. I am not a fan of coconut, but I have to say it was delicious! So easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Delicious easy cake!! My family raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Made this yesterday and we love it. I did make some changes after reading other reviews. I used a yellow butter cake mix and used pineapple juice in place of the water called for. I only used 1/2 of the sweetened condensed milk. I also mixed about 3/4 cup coconut flakes into the batter and mixed coconut into the cool whip rather than sprinkling on top. I will be making this again might try a pineapple cake mix next time with coconut water in place of the water called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I give it a 4.5. I added 3/4 tsp. coconut extract to the cake and use coconut milk instead of cream of coconut, because it's what I had on hand. I think the coconut flavor was weak, but the moistness didn't suffer in the least. In fact, I couldn't get the cake to soak up all of the liquid, even though I let it sit for over 5 hours. I only used an 8 oz. tub of Cool Whip and 1 cup of coconut for the topping...it was enough. Any more would have been too much. Overall, I think it's a good cake...easy to make too. I will use this recipe again...it's a good one to take a cake to an event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I know people don't say this anymore, but......this cake is the BOMB! Ha! Made exactly as written. My cake mix was only a little over 16 oz - so I added a few T of flour to get it closer to the ounces specified. Added the coconut to the cool whip before frosting and added some toasted coconut to the top. Garnished with cherries with the stems on. Very cute & so delicious!!! I got two requests for the recipe and was almost embarassed to give it because it's just so easy. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emjmdm
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
It was delicious and very easy to make!! I had two layers and added strawberries in middle and added strawberries to decorate to give it a nice look! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
AMAZING!!! A family hit and required at every occasion. I also took it to a pot luck on Thanksgiving and everyone was asking "who made the coconut cake" and also, "will you share your recipe"!!! We have a local restaurant who serves the best coconut cake EVER! I always wished I could get their recipe. Guess What…. I FOUND IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States