Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've made this a few times now. Instead of using a cake mix, I make my cake from scratch and I make my own whipped topping. This is, by far, my favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the BEST cake! I use lightly sweetened fresh whipped cream instead of cool whip. Some in my family prefer the cool whip, some the fresh whipped cream, but since I'm making the cake I do it the way I like it! I think it is best if you make the cake at least a few hours ahead of serving and allow the cream of coconut to soak in while refrigerated. Then add the whipped cream and flaked coconut right before serving. There is never any left, so I don't know how it tastes the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband said this cake was in the top 3 best cakes he ever ate! Found the cream of coconut in the liquor aisle by the Pina Colada. Thanks for the hint. I used 1/2 a can of sweetened condensed milk and it was perfect. Also used the coconut extract. Used a straw to make bigger holes and I felt that more cream went in. Pour it slow. It really is an easy cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The cake is so so good . After a few times I added pineapple on top of cake and added cherries . People get mad at me when I don't make the cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe is very versatile. Try Pineapple Coconut with a pineapple cake mix and Chocolate Coconut with a Devilsfood cake mix. Also, I often use only half of the Cream of Coconut/Sweetened Condensed Milk mixture and freeze the rest for another cake later. The cake is still very moist and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I have made this cake before and this is what you do: Bake in two 9" cake pans. While cakes bake, toast coconut in a skillet for a couple of minutes, till light brown. Make fresh whipped cream, add coconut flavoring. Warm coconut cream (NOT cream of coconut) and scm in microwave, just until blended. Allow cake layers to cool,remove from pans. Frost bottom layer with half the whipped cream and toasted coconut. Cover with top layer and carefully poke holes through both layers using the narrow end of a chop stick. Slowly spoon (or pour) the warm cream mixture into the holes and over the top layer. Be sure to do this very slowly, it will soak into both layers. Top with the remaining whipped cream, toasted coconut and fresh sliced strawberries. Garnish with berries around the edges of the plate. This is a great recipe, it's just the assembly and using coconut cream vs cream of coconut that needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made this for a work function. It was incredible!! Moist and very tasty. Also really easy to make. Thank you for sharing. This is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I am a baker & this is my husband's favorite cake!! Instead of cool whip, I top it with a coconut seven minute icing. To take away some of the sweetness, use unsweetened coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This cake is absolutely delicious! I didn't have the cake mix, so I just made a white buttermilk cake. My husband was amazed at how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gravette, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States