Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made a home made cake with King Arthur unbleached cake flour which calls for almond ext. Then followed the recipe. I used 2 cups real heavy cream and added 1/2 c. Powdered sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla put that on top of cooled cake and sprinkled bagged coconut on top. It is amazing. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Easy and big elegant flavor! I’m so happy that I made this for Christmas dessert. I read the reviews that this was too sweet and recommendations to cut the sweetness by only using either the cream of coconut or condensed milk…don’t listen to them. It’s not too sweet, it’s perfect…it’s cake people! I mixed about 2/3 of the bag of coconut flakes with cool whip which was at room temperature and frosted the cake and its layers. This, along with the cream of coconut gave enough of a coconut flavor and didn’t need to add any further coconut flavor to the cake batter. I made this cake twice in less than 1 week. For the first time, 1 basic white cake mix box was enough for two 9 inch round Calphalon cake pans, lined with parchment paper at the bottom. There was enough of the cream of coconut and condensed milk mixture for both cakes. It’s seems like your drenching the cake with too liquid much but as the cake cools it absorbs it all. I let both cake rounds sit in the refrigerator 2 days before frosting and cutting into it. I think cutting into it any earlier it will fall apart. The second time I made this cake I used a bundt pan and it feels like because of the thickness of the cake it didn’t absorb the liquid all the way through…it was still good though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very good - better after about 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naboria
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very delicious easy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Cake came out great! I used devils foods cake and topped with coconut plus sliced almonds. My husband called it the Almond Joy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajzaanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Delicious! Loved this cake which is now our favorite cake for birthdays and special occasions. Thank you for this one Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Rice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This cake is wonderful. It is so moist and delicious. My all time favorite. If you could rate it more than 5 stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I am a Coconut Poke Cake Fanatic! I made this cake, was out of condensed milk so added 2 cans of coconut cream. I used a BBQ fork to poke the holes so they wouldn't be too big, and refrigerated overnight. I frosted with Cool Whip and topped with shredded coconut. The cake was beautiful, should have gotten a picture but we ate it too fast, LOL. I wanted to try the cake before I serve it for Thanksgiving, it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This cake is THE BOMB! We will be making this often! It would be a great and easy recipe for a potluck or for dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Polyak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made this cake for my Moms birthday....she considers herself a "Coconut Cake Connoisseur", and at age 74, she has had her share of coconut cakes...This cake according to her "Is honestly the best I have ever had!" .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States