Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This cake is absolutely delicious! I didn't have the cake mix, so I just made a white buttermilk cake. My husband was amazed at how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gravette, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was so easy and good. I made it into an Almond Joy Cake, by adding some Almond extract to a Devils Food Cake; and to the frosting, which I used Pastry Pride. I grated some chocolate for the top and added slivered almonds. Everyone really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WRamey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The recipe as is gets four stars. To turn this cake into a 5 star cake I added 1 teaspoon of coconut flavoring in the batter and threw in a couple handfuls of coconut. Poke holes in cake using a wooden spoon handle. Otherwise, the holes are not big enough. I used 1 can of coco lopez cream of coconut (make sure you stir thoroughly before using as there is always oil in the bottom of the can) and mixed with 1/2 can of sweetened condensed milk. Poured on top. I used the whipped cream mousse frosting and instead of adding vanilla to the pudding I used 1 teaspoon coconut flavoring and then topped with flaked coconut. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
excellent cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This cake is fabulous! The only change I made was not using the sweetened condensed milk. I am not a big fan of super sweet cake and frosting and I found that just using the cream of coconut was perfect. This is very easily my favorite cake and of course, my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is simply amazing!!! Soo sweet and creamy and moist... That's a little taste of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This cake will receive raves all around. So easy to make. I did not use the bagged version or dry coconut. The frozen "real" flaked coconut (can be found in Walmart) is so much better and truly makes this cake fit for your fussiest guests. Yummmy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is the best cake ever. If you can make it to the 2nd day, it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This cake is incredible!!!The first time I made it my wife completely fell in love with it! I lightly toasted the coconut flakes, which not only added a dimension to the cake but made our kitchen smell delicious as well. Another key is to let it sit in the fridge...not easy to do when your kitchen smells like a pina colada. Trust me, the longer in the fridge the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Cream of coconut where have you been all my life?! Awesome recipe - though I did omit the sweetened condensed milk and made my own whipped cream. I also added coconut extract to the cake batter and to the whipped cream. This cake tastes even better after it sits in the fridge for a day. Thanks for satisfying my coconut craving! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States