Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Sadly, I was not a huge fan. I pick recipes really really carefully and had already made a Strawberry Poke cake (phenomenal!) but this one was really too sweet. I like sweet desserts, but I think I would try it next time with a pineapple jello/coconut milk combo, or a coconut pudding/coconut milk mix. I made exactly as the recipe called for and it's a bit heavy and soggy. Maybe even a lime jello/coconut milk mixture for the poking, along with the same topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickorita
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was a really good cake, but next time I think I will only add half the coconut cream and milk. The cake was falling apart when I was slicing it because it was too moist. Also I used half the whipped topping and half vanilla frosting. My husband and brothers really enjoyed it, I just wish it was more sturdy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickorita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made this cake this afternoon with help from the boyfriend (ok, he got to poke the holes, cuz that was the "fun" part lol). Amazed at how yummy it turned out! I accidentally bought coconut milk instead of cream, but I put a couple of tsps. of cornstarch in it, and I think it was ok. The cake was very moist - almost like a tres leche cake, but the flavor was great! Loved the "frosting"! My boyfriend though it would be even better chilled, though, so I stuck it in the fridge and will try it later :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I thought this cake would taste more like a coconut cake, but it just tasted like a plain old boxed cake. I even used REAL whipped cream. I wasn't impressed at all. Quite a disappointment! What a waste of my whipped cream and coconut cream. I only made it because it had such good reviews. People must not be used to baking from scratch to think this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Made this today for the first time. If you eat just the top half of the cake, it is very good; but the bottom where all the juice runs is tooooo sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Have been using this recipe for years and everyone likes it. I also toast the coconut before spreading on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I made this cake for a group of teachers. They were very impressed. Most of them ended up asking for the recipe. I followed the instructions exactly, except I used coconut cake mix instead of white. It could not have turned out better! Fantastic recipe...I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This cake is so good. It is very sweet and gooey, and I like it that way. I started making it about 5 years ago when I found this exact recipe on a website that had church potluck desserts. It does very well when I take it to pitch-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Amazing! Airy and moist! This is the cake that my family asks me to bake for their birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States