Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is wonderful but I do think there is an error with this recipe. I think it should be coconut milk with sweetened condensed milk OR cream of coconut. Coconut milk is found with the Asian food section and is unsweetened. Cream of coconut is found in liquor stores and used to make Piña Coladas. It is very sweet on its own!! I made mine mixing 14oz of sweetened condensed milk and the unsweetened coconut milk! Perfect!!! Had quite a bit of milk left over too...can't imagine 16 oz of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Really quite good! It's much better after it refrigerates a day or so as well. The weak part of the cake is the cool whip, which just really has an overwhelming fake taste. I think next time I'll try fresh whipped cream or maybe even coconut milk whipped cream. You definitively do not need the sweetened condensed milk as others have noted. It is plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I used chocolate cake and coconut syrup ( like used in cocktails)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This cake was excellent! It was the wings for my daughter's angel birthday cake and it was a hit! I followed the directions to a T and was a little worried about cutting and moving the wings into place, but the cake was not soggy at all (it was refridgeratered overnight before moving). I got many complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is super delicious! I followed the recipe as written. So easy and definitely a repeat it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've made this two ways, with and without the sweetened condensed milk. Just the coconut cream is perfect. The sweetened condensed milk is not necessary at all(a bit too sweet)! I added coconut extract to the cake and the whipped cream (real not cool-whip). Very easy and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie09
Home Town: Deerfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I love these kind of cake recipes because they are so easy and so yummy! I did a few things differently-I didn't use the sweetened condensed milk because I don't think it needs it. For the topping I mixed the whipped cream with coconut cream pudding (that I made only using 1 cup of milk instead of 2) and then sprinkled more coconut on top like the recipe says. Soooo good! I think the longer it sits the better because the flavors come together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsZabeth
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Love this recipe. Follow it exactly and it'll turn out scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have made this cake several times and it tastes wonderful and is so easy to make. The only change I make is I use French Vanilla cake mix instead of white. I think that gives the cake extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DocChef
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made this recipe for my DH's B-day. I couldn't find coconut cream so I used a can of coconut milk. Otherwise, I made it exactly as the recipe said. I wanted to make it into a round cake, so I used 3 8-inch cake pans, buttered the bottom of the pan and put parchment paper over it, and then buttered the parchment paper and the sides. Then I cooked all 3 cake pans in the oven until done. I quickly poked holes in them via chopsticks and poured the mixture of coconut milk and condensed milk over it (the coconut milk really thinned down the condensed milk, so I didn't need to heat it up to thin it). Then I waited for it to cool before flipping them over to assemble the birthday cake. I used a third of the whipped cream and mixed it with some coconut flakes to put in between the cake layers. It was a little scary flipping the cake over to layer them, but the parchment paper and butter really helped. It wasn't too hard to position either with the whipped cream in between the layers. Then I frosted the whole cake with whipped cream and dusted toasted coconut flakes all over. It sat in the fridge until dinner time when we enjoyed it. With coconut milk, it was a little wet at the bottom of the cake after sitting in the fridge, and it was a little too sweet for my taste. But overall, very pretty cake and overall very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States