Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
yes I tried this cake. It's delicious just like it is. I was wondering if you could use frozen coconut instead of flaked. Has anyone tried it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I been making this for so very long! But instead of pouring the ingredients on top i use a baster and poke holes and then fill them with the mixture. the cake is best cold and every bite you'll get just a bit of gooeyness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I love all things coconut and I love tres leches cake so I was excited to come across this recipe thinking it's like combining two of my favorite things and I wasn't disapointed! Now this cake isn't as wet as a tres leches cake and that's fine, it's not supposed to be. I couldn't stomach using a boxed cake or fake whipped topping so I admit I made my own white cake and my own stabilized whipped cream and we all loved it. When I made my cake I cut the amount of vanilla called for in half and replaced the other half with coconut extract. Highly recomend this cake whether you use a boxed mix or make your own cake but I strongly recomend making your own whipped cream either a regular whipped cream or a stabilized whipped cream recipe (there are several good ones here on allrecipes) they'll both taste better than the fake whipped topping, the only difference being the stabilized whipped cream holds up better rather than "melting" or deflating some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Excellent! Put 2 tsp coconut extract into cake batter. Nice and moist and not heavy. Keeps pretty well in the refrigerator too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made it for my office. They raved about it. I made it in a 9 x 13 glass baking pan. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY328

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Yum;this coconut poke cake was very tasty. I am sensitive to overly sweet desserts, so I am not sure why other reviewers are saying that this cake is too sweet. My family loved it. I did add about 2 tsp of coconut extract to the batter and toasted the coconut, so it's possible that those changes made a difference. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This cake is incredible! I made it for my mom's birthday and everyone loved it! I was told by two people multiple times it was the best cake they ever had.The cake is moist and the whipped topping goes perfect with the cake. Pouring the mixture of coconut cream and sweetened condensed milk over the cake was a bit challenging, I had to transfer the cake to another plate for that to work out but in the end it was fine. I had a hard time finding coconut cream, I didn't now it was in the liquor section but after researching it online in the store I managed to find a can and it is much thicker than coconut milk, which I wouldn't recommend using in the recipe. I will definitely make this cake again! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AM2009COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I will make this again & again forsure! I was affraid that it might be too sweet but it was perfect with our morning coffee. Followed the recipe without any changes... Yummy =)Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Home Town: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
wonderful moist cake...my go to for a quick dessert if I need a coconut fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My Family Loved it. When you take the first bit, You think Oh My Goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States