Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My husband and I did not enjoy this pie very much when we first tried it. The filling was too eggy. I added about 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips to the filling to make it even more like a Mounds bar and I think it was a good addition. The very edge of the pie, where the filling touched the crust and got the most cooked, was chewy and macaroon-like, and I liked that part. I'm not sure how to get the rest of the pie to be the same, maybe 1 less egg, more coconut and a higher cooking temperature. After refirgeration for 24 hours, I took the remaining pie to the office and everyone was raving about it, so I tried another piece and it was better then it had been the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was my first attempt at coconut pie, one of my daughters favories, and we made it because of the high rating. It was a total disappointment. Tasted kind of like a sweet coconut omelet or something, very eggy, very gross. No one in the house liked it, even the dogs. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Yummy pie! I made it for my family and they loved it. I would use maybe 1/4 a cup more shredded coconut, but then again i love coconut a little too much! Very eggy, and very good! I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very good pie. My husband loved it as did I.Very good texture and taste. I will make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Coconut pie is one of my favorites during the holiday season. I have made this pie twice and it is very tasty. I used 1/2 cup buttermilk instead of 1 cup of milk. And I omitted the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
VERY GOOD. not like the eggy pudding type coconut pies from the store. THis was a cross between a pecan pie consistencywise and a coconut pie. I did change a few things: subbed 1 cup coconut milk for milk, toasted my coconut first and left out the vanilla. I also used a jiffy pie crust mix. Other than that the only change I would make is to cut a bit down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz in Marlin, TX
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Made 4 of these for a bake sale, they sold like hotcakes! I was hoping we'd have one left over for us. Had to make another for the house and I was thrilled when it was delicious. I also increased the coconut to 1 1/4 cups but everything else was the same. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in Marlin, TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I LOOOOOVE this recipe. Easy to make and very tasty. I add a little bit more coconuts. Wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made this pie three times, twice without chocolate chips, and once with. Each time, I had to cook it longer than the recipe said. The second and third time, I cooked it at 325 instead of at 300, and that seemed to work better. The second and third time, I used 3 TB of flour instead of 2, and that seemed good. Also, I used dark chocolate chips, and they made a delicious bottom layer! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I wish I could give this pie 4 1/2 stars. It's the easiest pie I ever made. Took it to a dish to pass dinner and it was gone before I got a piece. From all reports it tasted great. "Like a Mounds bar without the chocolate". I did toast the coconut before adding it to the recipe and I baked the pie for about 40 minutes before it was done. I would take off 1/2 Star for appearance. It just doesn't make a great presentation. I'll certainly make this again, probably the next dinner as I still have the other 1/2 of the bag of coconut to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States