Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was my first attempt at coconut pie, one of my daughters favories, and we made it because of the high rating. It was a total disappointment. Tasted kind of like a sweet coconut omelet or something, very eggy, very gross. No one in the house liked it, even the dogs. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Fast and easy. Great flavor and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My husband and I did not enjoy this pie very much when we first tried it. The filling was too eggy. I added about 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips to the filling to make it even more like a Mounds bar and I think it was a good addition. The very edge of the pie, where the filling touched the crust and got the most cooked, was chewy and macaroon-like, and I liked that part. I'm not sure how to get the rest of the pie to be the same, maybe 1 less egg, more coconut and a higher cooking temperature. After refirgeration for 24 hours, I took the remaining pie to the office and everyone was raving about it, so I tried another piece and it was better then it had been the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I wish I could give this pie 4 1/2 stars. It's the easiest pie I ever made. Took it to a dish to pass dinner and it was gone before I got a piece. From all reports it tasted great. "Like a Mounds bar without the chocolate". I did toast the coconut before adding it to the recipe and I baked the pie for about 40 minutes before it was done. I would take off 1/2 Star for appearance. It just doesn't make a great presentation. I'll certainly make this again, probably the next dinner as I still have the other 1/2 of the bag of coconut to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Deelish. Easy to make, long on taste. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Oh wow this was good! I added an extra 1/4 cup of coconut like some of the others and I was very pleased with the results. Not only was it delicious, it was VERY easy to make too! I'm going to keep this recipe--thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Simply delicious! Very easy to make, comes out creamy and rich. I also added extra Coconut, 1/2 cup extra which allowed the top to toast slightly. This is my Official Coconut Pie Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Yummy pie! I made it for my family and they loved it. I would use maybe 1/4 a cup more shredded coconut, but then again i love coconut a little too much! Very eggy, and very good! I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I LOOOOOVE this recipe. Easy to make and very tasty. I add a little bit more coconuts. Wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Coconut pie is one of my favorites during the holiday season. I have made this pie twice and it is very tasty. I used 1/2 cup buttermilk instead of 1 cup of milk. And I omitted the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States