Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
We love anything with coconut so it comes as no surprise that my husband and I really enjoyed this coconut pie! We really loved the egg-y texture as opposed to other coconut pies which tend to be too creamy for our taste. I added a little coconut extract before pouring the mixture into the crust and springled a little more of the shredded coconut on top before putting the pie in the oven. We are clearly coconut-holics, but I agree with the other reviews that suggest a 1/2 cup more of flaked coconut in the mixture is necessary. I already promised my husband that I would make it again this year, perhaps at Christmas. So easy to make, so yummy to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
this is FANTASTIC I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
The only problems I had with this recipe were my own fault. I should have sifted the flour into the mixture because I ended up with a few clumpy spots. Plus, it was my experience that a deep dish pie plate would work best, since all the mixture didn't fit in an average size pie crust (again, could have been my own mistake). However, despite my problems, this turned out delicious. I'll probably have to change my rating to five stars once I personally have fixed this correctly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
VERY GOOD. not like the eggy pudding type coconut pies from the store. THis was a cross between a pecan pie consistencywise and a coconut pie. I did change a few things: subbed 1 cup coconut milk for milk, toasted my coconut first and left out the vanilla. I also used a jiffy pie crust mix. Other than that the only change I would make is to cut a bit down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz in Marlin, TX
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Made 4 of these for a bake sale, they sold like hotcakes! I was hoping we'd have one left over for us. Had to make another for the house and I was thrilled when it was delicious. I also increased the coconut to 1 1/4 cups but everything else was the same. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in Marlin, TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very good pie. My husband loved it as did I.Very good texture and taste. I will make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was my first attempt at coconut pie, one of my daughters favories, and we made it because of the high rating. It was a total disappointment. Tasted kind of like a sweet coconut omelet or something, very eggy, very gross. No one in the house liked it, even the dogs. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Fast and easy. Great flavor and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My husband and I did not enjoy this pie very much when we first tried it. The filling was too eggy. I added about 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips to the filling to make it even more like a Mounds bar and I think it was a good addition. The very edge of the pie, where the filling touched the crust and got the most cooked, was chewy and macaroon-like, and I liked that part. I'm not sure how to get the rest of the pie to be the same, maybe 1 less egg, more coconut and a higher cooking temperature. After refirgeration for 24 hours, I took the remaining pie to the office and everyone was raving about it, so I tried another piece and it was better then it had been the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I wish I could give this pie 4 1/2 stars. It's the easiest pie I ever made. Took it to a dish to pass dinner and it was gone before I got a piece. From all reports it tasted great. "Like a Mounds bar without the chocolate". I did toast the coconut before adding it to the recipe and I baked the pie for about 40 minutes before it was done. I would take off 1/2 Star for appearance. It just doesn't make a great presentation. I'll certainly make this again, probably the next dinner as I still have the other 1/2 of the bag of coconut to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States