Coconut Pecan Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Just like my Granny use to make! A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Followed commenter Christine's advice. I had no idea my favorite frosting was so easy to make! I put in a little organic almond extract with the vanilla for an extra nutty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Stinker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
The bread pudding itself is amazing! I used chocolate chips instead of raisins second time. I didn't care much for the sauce but my husband loved it. The second time I made German chocolate cake frosting without the nuts and coconut and it fit my taste better, more caramely. Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Perfection. My family are German Chocolate fans, and this one is sublime as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This one turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PDK27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I swear I have always bought canned frosting but one day read the ingredients and was disgusted by how many things on the list I couldn't even pronounce. For my husbands bday I made him a chocolate cake and found this recipe for the frosting. I have never made homemade frosting before so I read through the comments and took the advice to let it boil for about 15 minutes. I did not change anything else and I can honestly say we will never be able to use store bought GC frosting again. This recipe is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
made this exactly as recipe stated... yummy... had more than enough for a 9x13 cake, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
LOVED this recipe! We just needed a frosting to top our leftover sugar cookies and i couldn't pass this recipe up. Even after my sugar cookie was gone I was eating this frosting by the spoonful. (Did I just say that outloud?) I followed it to a T (just about... I just didn't add as much coconut and I omited the pecans) and it worked out great for me! I WILL be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used brown sugar this time, and it was great on a coconut cake for my birthday. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
The only changes I made to this recipe were to use 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar, toasted my coconut on a baking sheet in a @350 oven (Google "how to toast coconut", if you are not sure how), and increased the amount of coconut to 2-1/2 cups. I like the nutty, crispy taste of toasted coconut. This is a very good, easy, and great tasting frosting, that I used as frosting for my Samoas cupcakes. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States