Coconut Pecan Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Didn't thicken up as much as I expected. Maybe I'll try cooking longer next time. I will make it again. I don't have any kids at home, but I'm sure my grandson will like it. Marsh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I didn't read the recipe correctly and added 1 CAN of evap. milk instead of 1 CUP. Well, when I realized my mistake, I hastily added more of all the other ingredients. It still was not as thick as it should have been, but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. You might want to edit to say cook 10 minutes as it only says cook until thickened. I brought it to a boil on slightly over medium heat then cooked for 10 minutes stirring often. Added the coconut and nuts and it thickened perfectly. If it didn't thicken for others, they must not have cooked long enough. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I used the whole can of milk, kept rest of ingredients the same and cooked for 10 minutes, very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This Frosting is great. I have used this frosting for about 3 years now on my German Chocolate Cakes and it always turn out great. Here's what I do for the perfect frosting. First of all I use it on a 2 layer 9 inches round cake so I have to double the recipe because as it is written, it is not enough frosting for a 2 layer 9 inch cake. I beat together the milk and egg yolks in medium saucepan, and then I stir in the sugar and butter. I stir with my whisk until the butter has melted, and then I put on my timer for 20 minutes. I continue to cook and stir my frosting over medium heat. When the 20 minute timer goes off, I remove it from the heat and then I add my vanilla, coconuts and pecans. Then I let the mixture rest for about 15 to 20 minutes before I try to spread it on my cake. You will notice that when you take the frosting off the heat it will be a little runny but after you add the coconuts and pecans and let it rest it will thicken up. If 20 minutes is not long enough for your frosting to thicken just let it rest until it gets to room temperature. You have to let the frosting rest for a while so it can thicken. Now you are ready to spread the frosting over the cake. I hope this helps. Bettye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
If I could give it more than five starts, I would. This is perfect for German Chocolate cake. I made one for my husband's office using this frosting and it was gone before noon. Thank you for sharing, I'm saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PuffNoodle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden Isles, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Excellent! i agree that you should cook the mixture for 10 mins. I tried a few other recipes, but this one is about the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was amazing. I made it with boxed German chocolate cake and it was fantastic. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is a good recipe. I have made this frosting in a bakery (7 1/2 gallons!) and this recipe is similar. I used real butter, evap. milk and followed the recipe except for adding extra coconut and more pecans. Also, regarding the cooking time, the best tip I can give is to let it come to a full rolling boil, then it will begin making a 'smacking' sound as the bubbles pop. Let it 'smack' boil for at least 5 minutes, turn off heat, add other ingredients and you will have no trouble with it thickening. The eggs thicken it, like in a cooked pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States