Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I cooked the sauce a bit longer, until in was golden and thick. I recommend toasting the coconut in the oven until lightly brown beforehand! This is better than store-bought, if only because there's no creepy preservatives or mystery ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I just finished my first slice of cake frosted with this. I couldn't wait for it to cool completely, it smelled so amazing. And the taste, it doesn't seem as sweet as the evaporated milk method to me, which is fine. I was out of evaporated milk and am glad I was! I'll definitely use this recipe again, We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robocook
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is a good basic recipe. Texture and amount is perfect for frosting two layers without the sides covered. Like other reviewers, I thought it was a bit bland. I toasted my pecans while preparing and added 1tsp coconut extract after tasting. It helped. I will tweak and make my own version, adding the extract and probably 2T brown sugar while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Its ok. Good. I'm just used to the evaporated milk recipe and this taste too sweet to me. Or maybe candy-like as another reviewer said. Because of the reviews saying the flavor was less nuanced than the other recipe, I added a few drops of almond extract and maple extract. Figured that would be to little to taste but might help. Also, I made a double batch because this recipe makes less than the other, and we like lots of coconut pecan frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
The absolute best we've ever had. The whole family agrees. Silky texture, rich and yummy! I added egg yolks to Eagle brand milk with stick of butter in cold pan and heated all together stirting constantly and had no trouble without tempering eggs. This recipe is simple and over the top good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Starr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
It's all I can do not to eat it right out of the pan. Forget the cake. Heated first three ingredients together from the start. Stirred constantly with a wisk except to stop and check for bubbling. Removed from heat immediately after it started bubbling. No curdles. I only had 1/2 cup pecans and 1 cup coconut, but the consistency is just right. I'm never buying the tub again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Too dry. Followed directions perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PDK27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
There is no sugar in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
It was fantastic! It's not the sweetest recipe, but it doesn't need any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very easy recipe. I had to double the recipe to cover my cake, but overall this recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARcloud Cakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States